Bourbon Pecan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This is so good an easy i made it for 25 people for prom. I would give it 6 stars if that were possible. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SOhm
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Really simple!' I used a tablespoon of olive oil n tablespoon of unsalted butter to sautée. I also only used a half cup butter in the sauce. It tastes great, no problems sticking to the pan. It's real sweet, maybe try less sugar. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I struggled with getting the chicken breasts fried. There didn't seem to be enough butter in the pan to fry both sides, and I had to reduce the number of breasts from 8 to 6. Again, there just wasn't enough room in the pan. I did like the flavor of the breading though, and will definitely keep working with it. The bourbon sauce was fantastic! I plan to make it again to put on oven roasted pork tenderloin and chicken breasts. Watch your mustard, though. It can quickly overpower the sauce if you have even a little bit over that quarter cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I used thick chicken breasts when I made this recipe, and I knew they would require oven time to cook all the way through. The key to cooking this recipe as written in the frying pan is to use thin or pounded chicken breasts, which will result in a crispier crust, which is preferable in my opinion. The clarified butter is used so the chicken won't burn because it has a higher smoking point. It doesn't change the flavor, and regular butter is probably fine if you are only frying for a couple minutes then putting it in the oven. To pan fry the entire time, you will need clarified butter or an olive oil/butter combo as others suggest. Finally, the sauce is amazing. I will cut down on the butter in the sauce by about a third next time, so the other flavors stand out a little more. This is a delicious dish in the oven or on the stove, but try to fry it if you can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Really good. This will be a great dish to serve company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This was delicious!! Husband loved it and said I need to make this recipe again soon. I served the sauce on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Outstanding! Nutty crusty chicken with a rich sweet and tangy sauce with a bite. Will make for company for sure. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This was a really delicious dish and my husband and company loved it. I made a few changes based on the reviews. I made the sauce the night before with only 2 T. of Dijon, but did not change the other ingredietns. I did clarify the butter, added it to the breadcrumb-pecan mixture and dredged the chicken breasts that I sliced in thinner pieces. I did not pound the chicken. I browned the chicken in the clarified butter earlier in the day, so that I could finish it in the oven just in time to serve dinner. I reheated the chicken at 350 for 20 minutes with a little of the sauce on it. I only used 1/2 cup of butter and honestly, I have nothing to compare it to, but it was really rich with less butter. What a dish. Very impressive and if I had made the clarified butter a week ahead, this would have almost been a simple dish. The chicken was tender and I will make this for special occasions, because it is too rich for this to be a weekly meal. Thanks PGraff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
My family loved this recipe. I did bake the chicken and i cut back on the butter in the sauce to make it a bit healthier. Still turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I made this last night for the first time for my birthday, and there were zero left-overs. Always a good sign with a new recipe! Awesome recipe but needs a little tweaking. The clarified butter / breadcrumbs / pecans mixture will not stick as many other reviewers have noted. Another reviewer recommended using egg and milk. Next time I make it I will definitely use milk, which is what I normally use when I'm breading anything. The butter just wouldn't grab on. Since I had limited pecans and so much of the crust fell off, I scooped the excess pecan mix into the sauce (personal taste). It made the sauce much thicker like a thick glaze, and it was delicious. I did need to add some extra bourbon, WS and a bit of hot water to thin it out a little bit, but the topping was perfect and I didn't lose any pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juleska

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken French

See how to make tender, tasty chicken in a simple wine and butter sauce.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States