Bourbon Pecan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
I made this on a first dinner date - what a winner! She's picky but loved it. I too minimized the butter usage - substituted olive oil for cooking even. Also, I avoided the worchester sauce. Preparation was a bit intense - mix the sauce before starting to cook the chicken. Doing both at the same time takes some serious work. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
Wow! Wonderful! We love it over rice pilaf. It's also great to grill the chicken and just stir the pecans into the sauce. That way it doesn't heat up your house on a hot day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
This is a keeper. Definitely impressive - and better yet - most of the ingredients are common pantry items! I didn't use as much butter as it called for in the sauce (only used about 2-3 Tbsp), I'm not sure my butter for the breading was properly clarified, and my frying butter was definitely not clarified. I don't think it's necessary. ALSO - I used thin chicken cutlets instead of regular boneless breasts - thus, less frying time and a bit more coating and sauce per bite! I definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
WOW! We really enjoyed this recipe! Very easy! Followed exactly. Pounded chicken breasts thin prior to coating, which helped to get them fried in the 20 minutes of cook time. Doubled the amount of sauce, which was a good thing! Had plenty to go around but none to spare! Did not "clarify" the butter (seperating out the milk solids to enable a higher smoke point while frying) but fried over medium heat and it was fine - you don't have to clarify the butter - just keep an eye on it so that it doesn't get too hot while frying. Loved the sauce! Served with mashed potatoes and salad. Compliments all around the table. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
Made this recipe for my husband's birthday and he and the kids all enjoyed it. It was easy and the pecan coating was wonderful. The sauce was good but very rich. I made the sauce again as a steak sauce and cut back on the butter, using only 3/4 of a stick and it seemed much better. It was great even with steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
My husband and I have tried a few recipes from this site, but this is the first one I've felt compelled to rate. We followed the recipe exactly, which is unusual for me, and I can't think of a thing I would change -- it was perfect! We served the chicken on top of mashed potatoes, which also went wonderfully with the sauce. The next time we cook for company, this will be on the menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
My family was afraid when i said "recipe night" but they loved this one! I felt like I was making a gourmet meal with the "clarified butter" and "bourbon sauce" but this was really easy and came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
This chicken has the most amazing taste! ALthought I made it myself, it tasted like it came out of the kitchen of a famous restaurant. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Great recipe. My boyfriend said it was "outrageously delicious". I found the sauce also goes really well with English potatoes. I used less butter and made the sauce first.. enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OiMooi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
so very good! restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken French

See how to make tender, tasty chicken in a simple wine and butter sauce.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States