Bourbon Pecan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Hey everyone, this recipe is my very favorite! Please understand that the clarified butter called for is easy to make, and also imperitive to the success of the instructions of this recipe. You can make clarified butter by melting twice the butter called for in the microwave, pop it in the fridge, and in about an hour (do this ahead of time), you can take it out, pull off the solid top, and you have clarified butter liquid in the cup. Remeasure for an accurate amount. If the recipe burned to fast before, or you had to bake after frying, give it another try. You won't be disappointed. Thanks a lot PGraff, you're a great cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS NOT MENTIONED: I really don't see how the clarified butter makes or breaks this recipe as mentioned by several because I've taken the time to do it & my picky guests over the years could NEVER tell a difference. I just use 1T unsalted butter, 1T olive oil. I do know that this is always hands down the best dish I make and people can't stop eating even if they're "bird eaters." I just use egg with a splash of milk to coat this (instead of butter) before adding the pecan breading because it sticks better. I brown each side for 2 minutes, which is perfect, and then stick in the oven at 375 for 15 min. This is always moist. I use all of the butter stated for the sauce b/c this helps simmer down the taste of alcohol. I use Jim Beam and on accident one time, I used a Rum. Still edible though (thank goodness, considering this is what I use any time new guests come over). This goes perfect with a strawberry salad and for the best dressing in the world, try the one on "Strawberry Romaine Salad I." I've never tasted anything so perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This recipe is just great. I use less butter in the sauce, about half, or I find it is too oily. Toasted almonds also work for the crust. To solve the problem of the chicken burning easily, I use a little butter and olive olive oil to increase the smoke point. When I brown both sides, about 2 minutes each, I use an old restaurant trick and finish the chicken in the oven at 350 degrees for about 15-20 minutes until done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I am giving this four stars because I COULD NOT get the pecan/butter mixture to stick to the chicken. Then it fell off and it also burned during cooking. The flavor is FANTASTIC and I am going to make again, but this time I will NOT mix butter into pecan and breadcrumbs and coat chicken with egg then roll in mixture. Also, I will fry both sides and then bake until done. Very tasty sauce! Mmmmm! UPDATED: I changed to five stars with this version. Do not add butter to pecan mixture, keep dry. Dip chicken in egg and then roll in pecan mixture, will stick nicely. Then bake in glass dish and pour sauce over. Very tasty and a little healthier!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This is my new favorite chicken dish! All the right tastes perfectly blended. A few suggestions- Ask your butcher to pound out the chicken a little for you- it cooks a little faster and more evenly. Keep a cookie sheet sprayed with nonstick cooking spray in a 350 oven so as you finish cooking each piece of chicken you can keep it warm while you finish cooking the other pieces because they won't all fit in one pan. I followed the directions exactly for the sauce, but don't know why next time I couldn't just melt the butter seperately then stir it into the rest of the sauce. Enjoy and thanks PGraff for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
Wow! This was fantastic! And I did just about everything possible to screw it up. I was out of Dijon, so used regular mustard. Was out of bourbon, so used Scotch Whiskey. Was out of butter, so used "tub" margarine. It still turned out wonderful! Flavorful, juicy (not dry like most of my chicken dishes!), my family loved it. Suggestions: Make sure the pecans are chopped/ground very fine so they will stick. Make the sauce ahead of time (it seemed to increase in flavor when we reheated it later for leftovers). The pecan breading will burn quickly, so try browning it very fast over high heat in a bit of vegetable oil, just a couple of minutes per side, then place on a cookie sheet (spray with Pam first) in a 350 oven for 15 minutes or so to finish cooking. I served it with a simple rice pilaf and steamed broccoli. This is a delicious dish, quick and easy, and a new family favorite. Sophisticated enough for company too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This is similar to pecan-crusted chicken that I make all the time because it is frequently requested by family members. I pound chicken breasts thin and coat with buttermilk and then 50-50 ratio of bread crumbs and pecans (bread crumb mixture will get soggy so reserve some to the side for last couple of chicken breasts). Saute in approx. 2 tbsp butter and 2 tbsp olive oil (to keep butter from burning at high heat-quicker than clarifying butter). For the kids in my family, I serve with honey dijon sauce (dijon, mayo and honey) or ranch dressing. I also add a little paprika, garlic powder and kosher salt to breading mixture. My husband hates nuts but loves this recipe-I just chop pecans really fine. Definitely 5 star!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissajean
Home Town: Alpine, California, USA
Living In: La Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This could be a meal I would buy at a fancy restaurant! I made this exactly as written and it was great. At first I thought I had burned the chicken when I turned it over but it was the brown sugar that had caramelized. I would venture to say that this is the best chicken recipe that I've found and I will be making this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
What a great recipe! This is now one of my all-time favorites from Allrecipes. Definitely impressive to serve to someone. I cannot wait to make this again and probably will have it again tomorrow. It was quick, easy, gourmet and most of the ingredients are already in your pantry. Went great with some whipped sweet potatoes. It also turned a cheap bottle of wine into a terrific bottle of wine because of the flavors of the sauce. Pounded my breasts thin and used a bit more pecans than called for. Also, used an olive oil/butter mixture and finished off in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
I wasn't quite sure what I wanted to rate this so I settled on four stars. The taste is very good and we enjoyed the meal immensely. However, I do have some issues with the recipe. For one thing I cooked two large chicken breast but kept the sauce proportions the same as the original recipe. I ended up with enough sauce to drizzle a good amount over the chicken without smothering it and a little to drizzle over the mashed potatoes. But that was it. I am not sure how the same amount of sauce would serve 8 pieces of chicken. Another issue was that like a previous reviewer I also had problems getting the coating to stick to the chicken. I bought pecan pieces and then pulsed them in my food processor a few times so they were pretty fine. They were not however as fine as the bread crumbs. I don't know if this was the problem or what. I did brush the chicken with a little melted butter before coating but this did not seem to help. I might try baking the dish in the oven next time instead of frying and seeing how that works. Overall the meal was good but the recipe has a couple of problems and is a fairly involved process. Just a side note: to clarify butter easily just melt a stick in the microwave then let sit a few minutes. You can just spoon the fat off the top then pour the yellow liquid into a separte container. THis does not give you the pure clarified butter that straining will but it works fine for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken French

See how to make tender, tasty chicken in a simple wine and butter sauce.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States