Bourbon Pecan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
The breading for the chicken was quite good. I did not have clarified butter, so I used butter and olive oil. I also cooked the onions first and then cooked the chicken on top. Most of the onions ended up stuck to the chicken, but it allowed for the chicken to have great flavor. As for the sauce, if I'd realized that the dominant ingredient in the sauce was mustard, I wouldn't have made it. In fact, that should be what is emphasized in the title of this recipe and not bourbon, because it's really all you can taste. I tried to cover the flavor, but was unable to and no one else in my household ended up using it either. If I were to make this again, I would definately be in search of another sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
a dish to impress guests for sure. The only thing i did differently was triple the sauce recipe and served over wide egg noodles. I didn't have bourbon so i used templeton rye whiskey. don't know how that affected the flavor but it was awesome. the sauce gets better over time, so if you can make the sauce a day in advance it will be really good. not really sure why the recipe is so specific about how to add the butter to the sauce because i just threw it all together and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I only use regular butter for sauce .Fry then bake 350 for 15 mins. I brown the breasts in oil. I only get enough coating for 6 breasts. Everyone I make this for wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This was good, loved the pecan coating, but the sauce was a little too dijon-y for my taste. Planned on using half the butter but used it all trying to dilute the dijon flavor. I'll make this again and reduce the dijon a tad. I used the suggestion of browning on both sides 2 minutes each and placing in the oven at 375 for 15 minutes - very moist!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
It is surprisingly simple and delicious. I did not add about half the butter to the sauce, and it still turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This recipe was AMAZING; oh my goodness, we were in heaven! I stir fried some veggies and heaped them on top before pouring the sauce over--wow! So good! (Oh, I couldn't get my chicken done on the stovetop before the pecans started to over brown, so I pan fried golden and them and then put them in a 400 degree oven for 7-10 minutes to finish baking them.) This is a TOTAL make again recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I used this recipe for a dinner party and it was amazing! I was worried the chicken would turn out tough just cooking it in the pan so I browned all the sides and then cooked it in the oven on 350 until in was done. It was so tender and juicy! PS seasoned bread crumbs work just as great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Made this the other night and it was SO good! I browned the chicken in my cast iron skillet and transferred to the oven to finish it off. Love the sweetness from the pecans with the slight tart of the dijon mustard. My kids even asked for seconds!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This is only pretty good, the sauce is tasty enough, but I was disappointed in the pecan crust, just not as tasty and crunchy as I expected. I really like "Deviled Chicken Breasts", a similar recipe from this site, more than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Great recipe. I made this dish on short notice, so there wasn't time to clarify the butter, but it turned out just fantastic with regular butter for me. I also flattened the chicken before coating and pan-frying, and finished them up in the oven for about 15 minutes at 350. My son said it tasted, "like it would cost a lot of money in a fancy restaurant." Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken French

See how to make tender, tasty chicken in a simple wine and butter sauce.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States