Bourbon Pecan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I have never in my life made something so absolutely amazing!!! I followed the advice of others and blended the pecans and bread crumbs in my magic bullet. Then coated the chicken with flour then egg white before breading it. After frying it on each side for 3 minuets I finished it in the oven ay 375 for 20 minutes. PERFECT. I couldn't believe how simple and easy this was! This is my new ace in the hole!!! Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftygrl76

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cold Spring, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Erlanger, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This is possibly the best chicken dish I have ever made and I cook a LOT of chicken. I now make this once/month and my husband and son beg me to make it even more often. I only make 2 small changes: 1. Use a couple tablespoons less butter in the sauce (makes me feel healthier....haha)! 2. I put the pecans and bread crumbs together in the blender and blend until VERY FINE. This helps the breading stay on during the cooking process. Other than that, NO CHANGES are necessary. My 17 year old remarked that I could open a restaurant and serve only this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is a dish I could eat a few days a week... My family LOVED IT and everyone went back for thirds and forths. I made it with garlic mashed potatoes and romaine strawberry salad. And it all went so perfect together. I did do one thing different because I had a really hard time getting the breading to stick I covered each piece with breading poured melted butter on top and baked it in the over..... Perfecto.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I followed the recipe to the "T" and it was perfect. My husband couldn't get enough and bragged about the chicken to friends for two days! Definitely high end restaurant quality. Thanks for posting this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asiaf65

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
So amazingly good! I love everything about this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jes Carter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kashmirkat
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This is definitely something I'll make again. I did make just a couple minor changes. I didn't have dijon and just used spicy brown mustard and I used panko rather than reg breadcrumbs - so much crispier :) I used the chopper attchment to my immersion blender to chop the pecans and then added the panko and pulsed a few times to make it finer. I also did the egg instead of adding butter to the pecan coating - worked very well for me. I also didn't used clarified butter and since the butter was browning too fast on the first batch, even w/ half canola oil, I used all canola on the second batch (I did 6 good sized breasts - only 3 fit in the skillet at a time). I also browned in the skillet and finished in the oven - partly because my breasts were fairly thick and also because this allowed me make the sauce while they finished in the oven - less stress! :) Plus the oven was on anyway for baked sweet potatoes. 4 out of 5 is what my hubby said he'd give it - I consider that a pretty good rating! I do wish we could do half starts, I would likely then five it 4.5 :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kashmirkat
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This is delish! The fam loves it, as do I:) I cut the butter to 1/3 c.(have never used "clarified" & has always turned out awesome), use iltalian b. crumbs, and I also pound out my breasts. Never fails!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlbre25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This was spectacular! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Bethpage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
My nephew calls this the best chicken he has ever had. It tastes better each time. Not easy on the caloric intake, but worth the splurge every once and a while!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This was FABULOUS!! I used clarified butter, (a must so that you are able to cook the chicken for 10 minutes per side and the butter won't burn). Also, keep in mind that clarified butter should always be made from UNSALTED butter and it's super-easy to make. I also used chicken cutletts which are about 1/2" thick and they worked out perfectly....no need to finish them off in the oven. I highly recommend doing this because if you do the coating is super crispy, (I also used panko breadcrumbs). I served it with mashed red skinned potatoes and asparagus and the sauce soaks into the potatoes and is to die for!! Also, keep in mind it's a sauce and not a gravy. Will make this again and again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 443) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken French

See how to make tender, tasty chicken in a simple wine and butter sauce.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States