Bourbon Pecan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by kashmirkat
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This is definitely something I'll make again. I did make just a couple minor changes. I didn't have dijon and just used spicy brown mustard and I used panko rather than reg breadcrumbs - so much crispier :) I used the chopper attchment to my immersion blender to chop the pecans and then added the panko and pulsed a few times to make it finer. I also did the egg instead of adding butter to the pecan coating - worked very well for me. I also didn't used clarified butter and since the butter was browning too fast on the first batch, even w/ half canola oil, I used all canola on the second batch (I did 6 good sized breasts - only 3 fit in the skillet at a time). I also browned in the skillet and finished in the oven - partly because my breasts were fairly thick and also because this allowed me make the sauce while they finished in the oven - less stress! :) Plus the oven was on anyway for baked sweet potatoes. 4 out of 5 is what my hubby said he'd give it - I consider that a pretty good rating! I do wish we could do half starts, I would likely then five it 4.5 :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kashmirkat
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This is delish! The fam loves it, as do I:) I cut the butter to 1/3 c.(have never used "clarified" & has always turned out awesome), use iltalian b. crumbs, and I also pound out my breasts. Never fails!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlbre25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This was spectacular! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Bethpage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
My nephew calls this the best chicken he has ever had. It tastes better each time. Not easy on the caloric intake, but worth the splurge every once and a while!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This was FABULOUS!! I used clarified butter, (a must so that you are able to cook the chicken for 10 minutes per side and the butter won't burn). Also, keep in mind that clarified butter should always be made from UNSALTED butter and it's super-easy to make. I also used chicken cutletts which are about 1/2" thick and they worked out perfectly....no need to finish them off in the oven. I highly recommend doing this because if you do the coating is super crispy, (I also used panko breadcrumbs). I served it with mashed red skinned potatoes and asparagus and the sauce soaks into the potatoes and is to die for!! Also, keep in mind it's a sauce and not a gravy. Will make this again and again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
DELICIOUS!!! Each bite is heavenly. It deserves its own poem.. maybe I'll write one.. All of the tastes are perfect together. WOW I can't wait to make it for my husband for a candle-light dinner. mmmm. I baked the chicken as other people suggested. I also did not use clarified butter. (regular butter and olive oil as others suggested). I had bought honey Dijon. I also used light brown sugar. I only made one and it came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
this is sinfully good. too good. chicken should not be allowed to taste this good. this chicken is so good, it will lead to anarchy of the senses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
wow, this was delicious! The only thing I changed was I used chicken thighs because I was concerned about it getting too dry. This has a little bit more of a bourbon flavor, but it still was good. Next time I'll try the vanilla instead of bourbon. My husband said he'd rate it 9.6 if I would have used the chicken breasts as written;) This will definitely be a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RECkate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shell Rock, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
It was OK. Ive had A LOT better. I'd followed the directions exactly like it said and I STILL wasnt like everyone else is saying. 1. The bread crumb mixtures doesnt coat the chicken well. 2. The saw was not that good. I had to more brown sugar & cayenne pepper to give it a little spice. And because of the cayenne pepper, the sauce became better. I will not make this again. ...To each is there own. I say try it out for yourself first. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi-Me
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This recipe is definitely one of my all time favorites. A beautiful compliment to this dish (if you like hot spicy food) is chipotle mashed sweet potatoes, which is also on allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahJane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken French

See how to make tender, tasty chicken in a simple wine and butter sauce.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States