Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I just made this recipe today and it is definitely a "keeper"! My husband even said it is better than his mother's - and he's never said that before! I followed the recipe exactly except that I used a 7 pound pork shoulder (instead of 4 pounds)and the ratio of pork to sauce was perfect. (If I had used only a 4-lb. pork I'm sure it would have been swimming in sauce.) I cooked the shoulder for 6-1/2 hours, then 'pulled' it, then cooked it for another hour and a half. The mango sweetens it a bit and the chipolte chile pepper gives it a nice kick! Absolutely fabulous - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Really good. I used cracked pepper and it gave it a kick. Definitely one I will make again-Great for a superbowl party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
All the liquid had boiled off long before I checked on mine after 7 hours on low. I also only needed to cook it an additional 30 minutes instead of 1-2 hours after making the sauce. It still turned out delicious, but next time I will reduce the cooking time in the first step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by memomo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Made it for a party. Some of the comments I heard besides "delicious" were "This is definately a two plater" I did make my own version. After slow cooking 10 pounds for 14 hours, I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ma88ieMay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Really delicious. Only change I made was to add some garlic powder to the crock pot in the beginning... This is in my box to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Greencastle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rusty's girl
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
WOW! This is an awesome recipe. I cooked an 8 pound shoulder but did not double the sauce recipe. I had plenty! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rusty's girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I have made this a couple times and my family loves it! They have asked for it to be a regular in my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belmont, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Delicious! I made this exactly as the recipe suggested and the taste and texture was perfect. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
My husband loved this receipe. Wants me to make it at least once a week. I even liked it. I am not a fan of pulled pork or even BBQ. The flavors were great together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This was simple and easy to make...a hit with kids and adults alike! It will be a recipe which will be made several times over the next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Sarge's EZ Pulled Pork BBQ

This pulled pork is so easy to make in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States