Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
The flavor wasn't as strong as I would have liked and the sauce was a bit watery. Unusual flavor that is a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by http://rachelsrecipereviews.bl
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This is so good! I used honey chipotle bbq sauce. Husband loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by http://rachelsrecipereviews.bl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I made this for the first time tonight and it was fabulous!! I read a lot of the reviews and followed what a lot of others wrote....I used a 5 pound pork shoulder and did not have ripe fresh mangos and my local grocery store only had canned ones. I put the juice from the can in with the water and balsamic vinegar and cooked it for 6.5 hours on low in a crock pot. I only used 12 oz of bbq sauce and pureed both cans of mangos. I added a touch of brown sugar for sweetness as well. I only cooked the pork for an additional 30 minutes after putting the sauce on it and only used half of the sauce and saved the rest for later. Definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
The BBQ sauce (Sweet Baby Ray's honey chipotle) completely overwhelmed the other flavors. It was good, but I'm not sure it would have tasted any different had we skipped the mango, chipotle powder, etc. and just soaked pork in BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande2994

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is AMAZING! So easy, so yummy. I could go on and on about it. The first time I made this I used pork loin, it came out OK but not anywhere near as good as the second time I made it, using the shoulder/butt cut. My second time I doubled the recipe and froze the leftovers, they are getting better and better!! Try this you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRINITY7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This was my first time making pulled pork and this was a nice, easy, and very delicious introduction. I did listen to other reviewers and made the following changes: I mixed the salt, pepper and chipotle together and then rubbed the mix on the meat. After cooking, I trimmed the fat. I added only half of the sauce to the meat, and then added a bit more it to suit my preference for how saucy the pork should be. The extra sauce on the side was a nice addition. One note to those new to making this type of dish: if you can't shred the pork with two forks, it needs to cook more. When it's done, it should only take a few minutes to break it all up. Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I've made this recipe three times now, and it's great! Besides the fact that it's just fun to tell your friends you've made "Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork" and watch them salivate, it's a very easy recipe that I've haven't been able to mess up yet! I've made it with pork shoulders from 4 to 5.5 lbs, different brands of BBQ sauce (though my favorite so far is "NOH Hawaiian Bar-B-Q Sauce". Delicious and no HFCS!), I've slow cooked the pork on low from 5-8 hours and did the second half on high from 1-3 hours. It always turns out delicious. Last night the mangos I used turned out to be a little out of season (sour) so I added a couple extra Tbls each of honey and brown sugar and it came out great. Thanks for the terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Too much of many things... Sweet, spicy and saucy that resulted in a dish no one wanted seconds of. The flavour combination seemed spot-on, but it didn't suit our tastes at all. Only slight change was an additional shot of whiskey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Simple and easy. Do not think the mango pit added anything though. I just pureed some and mixed in for flavor. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Although I did modify a bit (more Bourbon & only 1 BBQ sauce) this was fabulous! I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ravin Sunkiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houghton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hancock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Sarge's EZ Pulled Pork BBQ

This pulled pork is so easy to make in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States