Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This is amazing. Serve on fresh Dutch Crunch bread with Apple Coleslaw to cool down the chipotle a touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Absolutely fabulous! LOVED it! I used Vancouver Island sea salt as I did not have kosher salt. Big amount for a single person but I froze some for later. YAY for later!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I absolutely loved this, the tastes are amazing. I wouldn't change a thing. I did use Sweet Baby Rays Barbecue sauce because it's a favorite of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Delicious! I did decrease the bbq sauce as others mentioned...but I could have used a bit more actually...I love pulled pork with a lot of sauce. A great combo of sweet, smokey and spicy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I used bone -in chicken breast (we don't eat pork)and cooked about 31/2 hours, then added some mushrooms to the pulled meat and homemade apple-bourbon bbq sauce. Then stuffed the result in red bell peppers and baked. AWESOME! Instant hit in our house. Well worth the time it took to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I'll never use another pulled pork recipe again!! Omg... it'll literally lay you out, crying for another sammy!! I poop you not!! The only thing I did different was add onions to the final cooking time. When you serve, throw some of your favorite cole slaw on it or next to it. Such a beautiful recipe. And it'll make your kitchen smell great, too! Way to go Rugger Ducky!! Anyone having problems with BBQ sauce, let me offer a tidbit. I use Sweet Baby Rays. My daughter puts that on her scrambled eggs. It's good stuff and accentuated the pork beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Ok, i think the meat was better with out all the BBQ sauce...i would give the pork 5 stars w/out the BBQ sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixponies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
SERIOUSLY. Best Pulled Pork I have ever made...and I have tried many versions. I needed it for Sunday early afternoon so cooked the pork Friday/Friday night and shredded it. Put it in the fridge and on Saturday made the "dressing". Mixed it in, cold, and left it until Sunday am and heated it for the 2 hours. I find, sometimes, that too much "heating" causes it to cake and carmelize so was trying to aviod that. It was unbelievable. I have printed this recipe for 7 people at my party. Nice work! I used Sweet Baby Rays original for my BBQ sauce base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This is a great start recipe and I followed it almost exactly. The reason for only 3 stars is bottled barbeque sauce is just yuck. I highly suggest making your own sauce and using that to mix with the mango mixture. I make my own BBQ sauce (both ketchup and mustard base) and have only tried this with the ketchup base sauce. I've made this twice so far and the second time I ran low on Balsamic vinegar so used half Balsamic and half White Wine vinegar and it was still really good. This second time, I also added a bunch of chopped red onion to the pork while cooking which turned out to be a delicious addition as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
As ande2994 pointed out already, this recipe just tastes like whatever BBQ sauce you use. Anticipating this, I only used half of the BBQ sauce suggested. I added a third mango, more honey, and more bourbon. Still, the BBQ sauce is pretty dominant. Not sure why this recipe warranted a video. It's just cook pork, dump sauce on it. All other labor and flavor wasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Sarge's EZ Pulled Pork BBQ

This pulled pork is so easy to make in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States