Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Good, but not great. Too sweet for my taste and I like sweet stuff. I will make this again but will eliminate the honey and reduce the amount of sauce to one bottle while adding more chipotle powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This is crazy delicious. I used pork loin instead of shoulder and molasses instead of honey. Other than that no changes. Even the cooking broth is tasty! I'm tempted to use it with ramen noodles! But the finished product, with the mango/barbecue/fine Kentucky bourbon we have, is just amazing. Thank you RuggerDucky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Soooooo money!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This was easy and yummy! My husband had me send some to his parents he loved it soo much! Looks like I will be making this again and again. I didn't use the chipotle chile powder and it was still yummy! This wasn't a messy pulled pork either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Was delicious! My boyfriend loved it and told his whole family how good it was so thank you, I wasnt cooking at home so I bought all the stuff only to find no slow cooker was available to me. i cooked the meat for 6 hours at 275. Turned out so good, just like a slow cooker would have done it to my pleasant surprise! Also had chili powder so i used a smoky bbq sauce to make up for the lack of chipotle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
mm mmm mmm I adapted to what I had on hand but used this as my base! I had a bourbon "marinade" rub on hand and only one mango...but a gob of mango salsa from Costco did the trick for the rest. I also had no honey (what?!) so I used Agave necter. My BBQ sauce of choice was 16 oz Jack Daniels Honey and I used hot mexican chilli powder and Mrs. Dash's chipoltle seasoning. This was NOT too hot, but definately flavorful. I know I totally played outside the lines here, but I think I captured the essence of the sauce. SO GOOD. BTW I kept the au Ju from the pork and will make a nice pasole or something! The 5th star was for EASY. I served this with "roasted" butternut squash and red potatoes that I ALSO did in the crock pot!! GET OUT!! Yes, a crock pot!! cut 'em, coat 'em in olive oil, your favorite italian seasonings & Kosher salt...heat 'em 4 hrs on high stirring occaisionally til done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeattleSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I love this pulled pork. I used old Crow borubon which is cheap and taste great in it. The only things I changed was to the honey to one teaspoon not two. Also the last time it cooks I cooked it at medium since on high it burnt the bottom. Simple changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Excellent. I made for my family and kept all the spiced as written and we all loved it, even though it was a little spicy. I'm planning to make it for a crowd, so will reduce the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Really Good! Followed as written, next time will use a loin cut....shoulder was a bit fatty for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I made this recipe with fresh peaches, a sweet BBQ rub, and a pork butt roast instead of the mangos, salt/pepper and shoulder roast. I like to use what I have on hand, so I am a consummate substitution cook in the kitchen. This was great. Highly recommend for a casual dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Sarge's EZ Pulled Pork BBQ

This pulled pork is so easy to make in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States