Bourbon-Glazed Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This is a 5 star all the way! I doubled the recipe and used a 10 lbs bone in 1/2 ham. I usually by a pre glazed spiral ham and since this was just a regular ham I wanted to add a glaze. I put it in a roasting bag and let it marinade for about 14 hours. (flipped it about 4 times) I hate bourbon and my parents had left 2 bottles here and I wanted to use it up. I was nervous because one of the reviews said that it left a strong bourbon flavor. But my guests and I felt it gave it a rich savory flavor. Everyone loved it. This glaze is OUTSTANDING. I even forgot the garlic which would have made it even better. Thanks Jennifer. I will forever keep bourbon in my kitchen from here on out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Absolutely fantastic! I doubled the sauce and made gravy with the excess (drippings) using just a bit of milk, water, and cornstarch. With the sauce I added spices (cloves, allspice, cinnamon, and mustard) to taste and since the ham came with a sauce packet, I tossed that in with it all. I poured half of the sauce on before I baked it and the rest when it was about done, baking it for another 10 min or so to set the glaze. Oh, I also omitted the water and just used whatever pineapple juice was in the cans. I boiled the sauce to thicken before pouring it on the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Chisholm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Made this for a church potluck and came home with an empty platter. It was moist with an outstanding flavor. I made it exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing! Thank for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I made this as written the first time, except I used a bone-in ham & didn't add the pineapple rings on the outside nor the water, but I used a disposible tin pan so I didn't need water & didn't want to dilute the sauce. The 2nd time I added spicy brown mustard- made it during the holidays & we had leftovers plus incredible ham & cheese sandwiches on crusty Italian bread for several days. Each time I used a pre-cooked [smoked] ham so I only heated at 20 minutes/lb. at 325 degrees and it came out perfect & juicy [didn't want overcooked dried out ham!] Bonus: both times got a meaty bone for home made pea soup later in the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Stuart Dobson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This was fabulous! Made it for Easter, and my family raved about it for days. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Tasted ok. But prefer spiral sliced honey ham
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This recipe was fantastic. I had heard over the years that bourbon-glazed hams were delicious, so on Christmas I tried the recipe and the masses were right. The ham I prepared was very yummy and I intend on using this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This is excellent and the best part...a shot or two for the cook along the way! HA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
The ham was delicious..great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
My ham was tender, juicy and delicious after trying this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Duncan, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States