Bourbon Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This was okay! Nothing spectacular about it. I followed the recipe to a "T", until I realized that I didn't have the bourbon!! I used spiced rum instead but still found that it was kind if runny. That flavor was interesting though, but good one the carrot cupcake recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Love this frosting! Tasted a bit strong at first but paired with a good moist banana bread, it was so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtford

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Delicious frosting but don't let the bourbon fool you; it will taste strong when you make it but the next day you will hardly be able to taste it. Everyone loved it though !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This frosting was great on a butter pecan cake. I added 2 TBS. of bourbon to the cake for flavor. I used 4 1/2 cups of powdered sugar instead of 4 it was a big hit. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JAIPO
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Very good, though I reduced the amount of bourbon used. I put this on a fresh peach cake- everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I served this with Banana Cake X (from allrecipes)and it was great!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnitaV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Love this, used only 2 Tablespoons as other reviewers suggested -- also tried this recipe using Rum (2 tablespoons) YUM! Just tried the with 4 tablespoons of Cointreau with carrot cake, sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I loved this frosting! I made a half recipe and drizzled it over the Pumpkin Cake III from this site. Everyone loved it! I thought the bourbon flavor was right on, but it did mellow overnight. Next time will make the whole recipe so I can eat the rest with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This is great on carrot cake if you reduce the amount of bourbon. I had to reduce the bourbon to 2T b/c the bourbon was overpowering and the icing became too thin. The icing is still really thin w/ 2T, but the taste more than compensates for the "thinning" look of the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMCKELLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
I made the frosting, frosted the cake, and ate some within an hour. The bourbon was kind of overpowering, and this is coming from someone who likes bourbon a lot. However, by the next day it had mellowed and was really tasty. Next time I would either try adding less bourbon or making it the day before I was ready to frost the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States