Bourbon Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
When I first read the recipe i thought it would make and incredible additional to the Italian Cream cake I have been making for years. While I very enjoy the taste the frosting, The 5 tblspns of Bourbon made the frosting a little too thin for decorations. I even added an extra package of cream cheese. Is isnt runny but just too soft for functionality. Incredible taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Delicious! I used the suggestions of other raters and substituted orange liqueur for the liquid... perfect for fall spice or carrot cakes. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I made this frosting and frosted a fresh banana cake with it. Took it to a family birthday and it was a BIG hit!!! Use all of the bourbon, because the next day it really mellows out...will use this recipe again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANAM76

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Great base recipe. I would advise low simmering the bourbon in butter to heat off some of the alcohol taste. I've made twice now, the second time when I was simmering butter and bourbon I added some light brown sugar to round the taste of the bourbon, perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Loved this recipe! I did however instead of using bourbon used amaretto instead. Gave it a very nice sweet flavor that really added to the cream cheese. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhedonda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
For this much bourbon you should double the butter and cream cheese. Also without the bourbon it's great with just 1 C confectioner's sugar, 8 oz cream cheese and 1/4 c butter. Add 1 tbsp vanilla.Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Probably the best frosting on the planet for people like me who abhor frosting. Usually I just wipe off frosting, but this one, this one I had a half inch thick on cupcakes and didn't leave any to waste! I did have to tweek the amount of liquor to 2 tblsp. like all the other reviews note. I used Appleton Estate Rum instead of bourbon. I know it would be excellent with bourbon as well, but I was using the frosting to top off key lime cupcakes, and wanted to keep the geography of the ingredients the same. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This recipe was delicious on a red velvet cake! Such a good and adult twist on a staple favorite (cream cheese icing) I used 3.5 Tbsp. of Bourbon and 2 Tbsp. of white rum... the flavor was not too strong and only noticeable in a large bite... several people inquired about what flavors were in it and were guessing things like 'lemon' 'almond' etc. so the alcohol taste wasn't overbearing that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashleybakes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I found the bourbon just a little bit to strong for my liking. I made this for your classic carrot cake and the bourbon just didn't go all that well with the cake. The next time I make this, I will use a really good vanilla extract, other then that, this is a nice and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Eckman-Dempster

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I made the "Best Carrot Cake Ever" recipe and this frosting with it and I mean it was WONDERFUL! Thanks for sharing this recipe. I will enjoy it for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States