Bourbon Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I used my sweet, sweet brown sugar (Maker's Mark) and I highly recommend imbibing as you prepare. Using the full 5 T of bourbon makes more of an icing than a frosting, but I put it on some brownies and they were highly delicious. I would certainly consider eating a live animal if they had been properly covered with this icing, perhaps even my dog and he is my best friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RocK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I made this with Banana Cake X (from this site) in a 9x13 pan on Saturday. By Monday night it was gone and my family was asking when I was going to make it again. I used the full five tablespoons of bourbon but only a little more than three cups of sugar. The result was a creamy, not too sweet frosting with a nice hint of bourbon that even my nine year old didn't find overpowering. I will be looking for other cakes to pair with this frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Okay, I made the frosting per the directions. It was a little runny, but I was able to frost a red velvet cake just fine. What I didn't like about it was I found the bourbon flavor to be a bit strong. I used Maker's Mark (which I think is decent) and the smell of the frosting was even overwhelming. Next time I'd probably cut down on the bourbon, or put it on a spice cake or carrot cake or something that can stand up to the flavor a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This was fantastic -- everyone who tried it raved about it! I used about 3 tablespoons of bourbon and 3 tablespoons of milk to make more of a glaze, as I wanted to drizzle this over a bundt cake. I definitely agree with the other reviewers that 2-3 T of bourbon is plenty, and any more than that will make the frosting too thin to spread (if you're looking for a more spreadable frosting rather than glaze).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANVEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaines, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Disappointing if you're after the bourbon flavor, which of course I was. Because I'm very familiar with this classic cream cheese frosting, what happened with this is just what I expected, so I should have known better. If you're looking for a rather thin glaze, then 5 T. of bourbon might work just fine. However, if you want a nice, thick, spreadable *frosting,* then 5 T. of bourbon is at least 4 T. too much. I used 1 T., and found I still had to add extra powdered to make it stiffer. With only that 1 T. of bourbon, we were not able to taste it at all. Whether you use bourbon or any other liquid in this cream cheese frosting recipe, start out adding a little at a time - and certainly not 5 tablespoons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Tasty!! I followed directions and no, the bourbon (Woodford Reserve) wasn't overpowering. It's just like most every other dish... Use superior ingredients if you want superior results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Exactly what I had in mind! I used the frosting to top my bread pudding cupcakes. Light and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
It smells and tastes great. Tomorrow I will top a carrot cake with this yummy frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaPintler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
very good.. I used Crown Royal and the taste was not overpowering at all. I had no bourbon. My frosting turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I used 3 tbs of bourbon, and it was still too runny. If you want an icing or a glaze, use 5. If you want a true frosting, use 2. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla extract. Also, definitely, definitely make this a day in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States