Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This was pretty fantastic on it's own, but wasn't like it is in the mall. I tweaked it a little and it was almost exactly what I get at the mall. I used 2 ounces of soy sauce and 1/4 cup more brown sugar. I used dark brown sugar. You couldn't even taste the bourbon. Absolutely mouth watering delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
439 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I was excited to find a Bourbon Chicken recipe with simple ingredients, as well as good reviews overall. On my second trial of this dish, I did, however, make some changes I believe for the better. First, used boneless skinless thighs (a bag of frozen chicken thighs, like Tyson). I doubled the marinade with the mesurements as writen, but then added about 3 tablespoons of oil (peanut), and topped off the brown sugar to 1 1/2 cup total. I also threw a few dashes of crushed red pepper, just for some contrast. Alot of reviewers said that the liquor taste was very strong, well I have a tip to try next time; you can subsitute Vanilla Extract(the cheap kind works best) for the bourbon. I personaly don't care for he taste of liquor, also this is what they use in the Mall. Tenderize and marinade in the fridge overnight in a gallon ziplock bag. As far as the cooking, I used the same time & temp, but covered the pan with foil until the last 15 or 20 minutes. This gave the chicken a great color and taste. The oil also helped with the browning. Serve the remaining sauce from the bottom of the pan with the chicken over rice or mashed potatoes. I hope these tips will inspire you to make this dish your own too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
380 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZINOHIO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This recipe is not bad. It just needs some adjustments to work. I read a lot of the reviews before I made it and decided on several changes. I chunked the chicken before placing in the marinade. I also marinaded for about six hours rather than overnight. Because I wasn't sure how it would turn out I only bought an airplane size bottle of bourbon. Turns out that is about a 1/4 cup. I didn't think the alcohol taste was too strong. I also added an extra 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I didn't have dried onion or garlic powder on hand so I used fresh grated onion and a clove of chopped garlic. I decided to stir-fry the meat and it worked out wonderfully, however be careful not to over cook the chicken. I also boiled the sauce to reduce it. I let it cook for about 15 minutes at a hard boil and I still thought it was too runny. Next time I won't cook down all the sauce, it made a lot. I served the chicken with white rice and steamed veggies. It turned out sweet and had a taste similar to Hawaiian style Teryaki. Since I have never had Bourbon Chicken from the mall I can't really compair. My husband who isn't a fan of Asian food and my one year old daughter both really liked the chicken. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
thisnrecipe is definetly a keeper. My family loved it. The only changes I made were I chunked the chicken instead of whole breasts, I used 1/4 cup of bourbon and a few extra tablespoons of brown sugar. By chunking the chicken it cuts the cooking time in1/2. It only took about 30 minutes. This one is a favorite for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
If you have been to the Cajun Grill or Asian Chao, this recipe does not come close. I have tried every recipe on the Internet for this dish have yet to find any recipe close to the fast food chains. I found this recipe definately to have too much of the bourbon in it. The second time I used this recipe, I reduced the bourbon and still found it to be too much. I have since found out that mall version of this recipe does not use bourbon at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
this is so incredibly easy but packed with flavor. My oven went on the fritz so I had to do this on the stovetop. I cut into thin strips and used fresh grated ginger, and 2 cloves crushed garlic. Omitted the powders. sauteed a large onion and added the meat and marinade. Thickened with a little cornstarch. Served over basmati rice seasoned with saffron and peas. This has a wonderful flavor. I was leary of the amt. of brown sugar but although it is sweeter, it is not sickening. This tastes sort of like General Tsao's but just has a unique flavor all its own due to the bourbon. Now I know what to do with the big bottle of bourbon I bought by mistake. Thanks for this super easy recipe packed with flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
If you are looking to duplicate the bourbon chicken found in the malls, this is not it. But this is still a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTLES1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
I made this for my husband and I and another couple. I cut up 8 boneless breasts (smaller Tyson ones) into bite-sized pieces and marinated over nite and then baked it as instructed and it was delicious. We ate it all, served over rice. I was embarrassed that I didn't have more to serve! The bourbon taste wasn't too strong - maybe because I baked it long enough. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2000
This was VERY good. I used boneless skinless chicken breasts and let it marinate for 1 1/2 days. I did cook the chicken too long. I would also cut back a little on the soy and bourbon. I think 1 hour would have been more than enough. This tastes VERY close to my favorite bourbon chicken served at The Big Easy. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
After reading previous reviews, I changed the method of preparation a little. I was only cooking for two, so I used two boneless, skinless chicken breasts. I cut them into bite-size pieces and marinated them for only one hour. Then I tossed the whole thing on a frying pan and cooked it until the chicken was done and the sauce had thickened. I served it over buttered egg noodles with peas. I thought it was really delicious and almost exactly like the mall stuff. My bf liked it at first, then only finished half of it, saying that the alcohol taste was too strong. I will make it again, but try using half as much alcohol. I thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMURKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States