Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Not as spicy as we'd hoped, little too sweet for our taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spratlas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idabel, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
The flavor was very strong and not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Very good recipe but be careful on the cooking time. The recipe says cook for 1 1/2 hours and that's way too long. I cut the breast into small pieces and after a hour went to check on it and the juice was all gone. Its a little salty you might want to use Lite Soy Sauce instead of regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This was very good. After reading reviews, I also used 1/4 cup more of dark brown sugar, fresh minced garlic, grated ginger and 1/2 minced shallot. Marinated it overnight. During the last 20 minutes of baking, I added broccoli florets. We had over Basmati rice. We will have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
We really enjoyed this. It was pretty rich though so next time I'll make rice or something with it. Also cook time was shorter. I used frozen breasts that were mostly defrosted by morning. Cook time was about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I wasn't impressed with this. It was good, but nothing I'd choose to make again over trying a new recipe. Perhaps it was that I didn't marinate it, but honestly, I don't read recipes ahead of time. I look at ingredients to see what needs chopping/dicing and determine how long it will take based on that and when I went to make this at dinnertime, I wasn't going to wait a full day for what I planned tonight. I used chicken thighs and they were perfectly tender baking at 35 minutes at 375 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Hubby wanted something different for dinner, found this recipe and made the marinade exactly as written, only doubled. We marinated it for about 5 hours as we didn't realize it should be 24 hours. We loved it and are looking forward to the leftovers tomorrow. I will thicken the sauce with a bit of cornstarch so it will stick to the chicken next time and also marinate for the full 24 hrs. We used chicken thighs as we prefer them to the breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
i was looking for a recipe similar to something called 'street chicken' at a local buffet that i really like. this seemed pretty close so decided to give it a shot. i read through over 100 of the reviews for it and a lot of the people made it in a a pan instead of baking. i was really wanting to follow it precisely but decided to cook it in a pan like everybody else. it turned out pretty good, i added a bit more brown sugar cause everybody said the bourbon taste was very strong, but it ended up tasting a bit sweeter than i had anticipated. it turned out good and i liked it though. will probably try tweaking it a little different next time. i'd recommend it. i've never had 'mall chicken' that everybody mentions, so i don't know if it's close to that or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Though the result was pretty good tasting, though very sweet, it was NOT the shopping mall bourbon chicken I've tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pearl City, Illinois, USA
Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I took some suggestions from other reviewers and modified the recipe by reducing the soy sauce to 2 oz, increasing the brown sugar to 3/4 cup. I subbed Brandy in place of the Bourbon, as that is what I had on hand and I think it worked beautifully in this recipe. I reserved half of the marinade before letting the chunked chicken soak in it for about 12 hours. I cooked the chicken on the stovetop and when chicken was mostly cooked I added the reserved sauce to finish cooking. I would not hesitate to make the same modifications when making this recipe again. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, Lucy Loo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States