Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Substitution for bourbon and recipe for extra sauce to go over rice: I've made this twice and my very picky family loves it. I don't have bourbon so I sub 1 Tbs of vanilla + 2 Tbs water. If I don't plan ahead enough to marinate it overnight, I like to cut the chicken up in strips and marinate it in a ziploc for a couple hours. Then I pour the chicken and marinate in a pan, cover with foil and cook at 350 for about 45 minutes. Sauce for rice: I like to make a second batch of marinate (half the recipe this time). Then add 2 cups chicken broth to it. Bring it to a boil. Dissolve 1 Tbs of cornstarch in some cold water or broth and add that to the boiling sauce mixture and stir until slightly thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I think this recipe has potential to be really good, but the measurements of ingredients really need to be adjusted for that to happen. I thought the bourbon was overwhelming, I would use no more than 1/4 c. (and I think that's probably too much.) I would also cut the soy sauce down to 2 oz. and add an extra 1/4 c. of brown sugar. Not sure if I'll try this again even with tweaking the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made it per the directions, with the exception that I used mostly vanilla with some bourbon. I chunked the chicken and baked it in the over for about 45 minutes. It was edible and we'll eat the leftovers, but it wasn't very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
i wanna try this with turkey you think it will be good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YOANA0822

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I absolutely loved this recipe! I will definately be making it often. I doubled the recipe and it made alot. The whole family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Tried it. Liked it. I agree, it is not an Asian dish - more subtle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I was going to comment, but then I realized that all the other reviews and comments were from more than 5 years ago. What's the point?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I didn't have dried minced onion or garlic powder, so I used two tablespoons of minced red onion and half a teaspoon of minced garlic because I did have those on hand. I didn't find it to be too bourbony, but I also didn't let it marinade over night. The kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cameron, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Anna Bazzo
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This recipe was definitely flavourful, but it did not taste anything like mall bourbon chicken (which I have been on a serious hunt for!) I realize mall bourbon chicken doesn't actually use bourbon so I took one reviewers advice and used vanilla instead. It turned out yummy, but again, not the exact flavours I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Bazzo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Delicious! Thank you, Lucy Loo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BirdNSav

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States