Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Very tasty. I used Teriyaki Sauce instead of Soy Sauce. I didn't marinade mine because I did not have the time. Instead I shredded the chicken and mixed the marinade into the chicken. It was really delicious that way and I served over rice, so the marinade served to give the rice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
The taste was great but there wasn't enough sauce to have over a bed of rice. When I make this the next time I will at least double the sauce ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
"I don't recommend this one at all. I I cooked the chicken for an hour and it was way overdone. I basted frequently as directed but it still came out like charcoal. The marinade was pretty potent although the flavor was good. I would definately cut down on the bourbon also. Maybe y'all will have better luck than I did." I made a copy of this review because exactly the same thing happen with me. I also belived in the best review that was here and one more time I tried to made this changes but still no good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Maybe it was the bourbon I used or maybe it was my expectations but this was awful! I don't like negative reviews without giving specifics but I'm trying to explain what I didn't like: First, the sauce burned in the oven in a glass 9x13 baking dish (if I would do over, I would put into aluminum foil packets). Second, the flavors didn't meld for me. I could taste bourbon, ginger, garlic, and soy sauce. It tasted "shallow". It needs something to add to it's richness but I'm not quite sure what. After eating one bite, I'm permanently cured of my desire for bourbon chicken so I guess that's not a bad thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Very tasty!!!! Used whiskey with a dash of vanilla extract vs. bourbon; turned out excellent!!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My husband loved this! It was very tasty, but I would like to try it with some different bourbons. (I used Knob Creek the first time.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Did not like! Too much bourbon. :-( Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni Lawter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blacksburg, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Chesnee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Substitution for bourbon and recipe for extra sauce to go over rice: I've made this twice and my very picky family loves it. I don't have bourbon so I sub 1 Tbs of vanilla + 2 Tbs water. If I don't plan ahead enough to marinate it overnight, I like to cut the chicken up in strips and marinate it in a ziploc for a couple hours. Then I pour the chicken and marinate in a pan, cover with foil and cook at 350 for about 45 minutes. Sauce for rice: I like to make a second batch of marinate (half the recipe this time). Then add 2 cups chicken broth to it. Bring it to a boil. Dissolve 1 Tbs of cornstarch in some cold water or broth and add that to the boiling sauce mixture and stir until slightly thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I think this recipe has potential to be really good, but the measurements of ingredients really need to be adjusted for that to happen. I thought the bourbon was overwhelming, I would use no more than 1/4 c. (and I think that's probably too much.) I would also cut the soy sauce down to 2 oz. and add an extra 1/4 c. of brown sugar. Not sure if I'll try this again even with tweaking the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made it per the directions, with the exception that I used mostly vanilla with some bourbon. I chunked the chicken and baked it in the over for about 45 minutes. It was edible and we'll eat the leftovers, but it wasn't very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States