Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I loved it and wouldn't change a thing! Husband said he could taste the alcohol and was too sweet, so that's why I rated a four. I'll definetly make again, but maybe when he's out of town...haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I added more brown sugar and less bourbon (I used Jack Daniels). I used fresh onion and cooked the chicken on the stove with olive oil. I removed the cooked chicken and kept it warm in the oven. I added the marinade to the pan in which I cooked the chicken. I thickened it with cornstarch water. Served over rice with green beans on the side. It was a hit, but only because I read all the other reviews and modified the original recipe accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I've made this recipe twice. The first time was this summer and I cooked it on the grill after marinading. It turned out pretty well, but I oversaturated it with the bourbon sauce. The second time was just last night, and I made it as instructed (Only, I cut the chicken into pieces first). It turned out well, only I think I cooked the chicken for too long. Next time I’ll put it in for about a ¾ of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
It is great! My whole family loves it! I make it every year for Mardi Gras....thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Correia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
i tried this last night/ this morning and it came out pretty bad. French toast Chicken...... Need I say more??? Too much bourbon also ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I really liked this. I did add a little less bourbon. I also made it in a crock pot, though the next time I do that I will double the soy sauce and not use nearly so much bourbon! For the crock pot I also added rice in, which I liked though the rice was sort of lost in the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This was awesome! We always make sure to marinade it overnight. Any less is not enough and any longer is too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EFFIE117

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I tried this recipe, but took the advice of another user as she said her recipe was just like the Malls. Sorry to say it was not even close. it tasted like French Toast!! Thanks to my son loving French Toast he still ate the chicken. I am still on the hunt for the closest tasting recipe to the Mall as possible. So far, no luck!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
It was ok. Not my favorite but I may attempt to make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheEngstroms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA
Photo by Chef Helen
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Chicken was dry. I will follow others' suggestions next time and use dark meat. I modified the recipe a bit and followed others' tips when I cooked it. I mixed all the ingredients in a gallon sized zip-lock bag. Here are the following changes I made to the marinade: 2 tbsp vanilla extract 1/4 of minced onion 1 1/2 tsp garlic powder 1 cup brown sugar 50 ml bourbon whisky 1/2 cup soy sauce 1 tbsp grated ginger sliced chicken breasts I marinaded the chicken for 10 hours (overnight). Then I poured the entire mixture into a greased 9x13 baking dish and covered with aluminum foil for 1.5 hours at the suggested temp. (325F) The flavor was GREAT! But the chicken was still dry. I will definately use the marinade again for next time but with dark chicken meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States