Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
If you try this recipe with the expectation that it's going to taste like the fattening, restaurant version, you are going to be disappointed. That being said, however, it's a very flavorful and relatively healthy dish. Make it even healthier by using low sodium soy sauce and serve it over brown rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I used some of the tips from the other reviewers. I ended up marinating my chicken for over a day (I didn't have time to cook it the day I planned). It came out really good, my husband is a fan. It was great with stir fry over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie M.

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
The chicken was amazing! Simply delicious. We had no leftovers. I didn't have onion flakes so I chopped a half of an onion, a tablespoon of minced garlic and sprinkled garlic salt over the chicken lightly before refrigeration overnight. The kicker was, I did not have any bourbon on hand so I used brandy on 5 boneless chicken breasts and had plenty of the marinade to cover. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe. I will use it again. It was delicious, even with the brandy. My husband said "it's a keeper."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This was okay. Nothing over the top for me. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
i love this recipe! i added a little more bourbon. and baked it as said to. then turned it into a stir fry. adding the leftover juices for flavor. cooked it till the juices were gone, and served over rice. i will make this a million times over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I tried all the bourbon chicken recipes online and made some adjustments here and there, but the flavor is always a little different from the bourbon chicken I have at malls. Luckily I found a good product online at bourbonchicken.com, and their sauces are awesome! Now I can save time preparing sauce ingredients, save money from buying bourbon chicken at the shopping mall, and have a great time doing grill with my kids. The flavor becomes so easy to achieve at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
This was awesome! Except for halving the recipe and using turkey instead of chicken I followed it exactly. The flavors were wonderfully and it was extremely moist. My husband didn't even realize it was turkey until I told him. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Recovery, Ohio, USA
Living In: Coldwater, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
My husband and I thought this dish was pretty good. I didn't have any ginger so I left that out. I let the chicken marinate for about 9 hours then I cooked it on the stovetop in my wok. I served it with rice and chinese vegetable mix. We will make this again! Also was a very quick dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARENDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pocahontas, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
May or may not make it again. It was pretty good, not AWESOME though. I substituted minced onions for onion flakes, and I cubed the chicken before baking for 45 minutes. If I do it again, I'll bake for a half hour, and increase the time if needed. Bourbon wasn't overbearing, and it was sweet, but also not overbearing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommeee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Winter Ivy
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This was the tastiest chicken I have ever made. The only modifications that I made were to use fresh garlic and onion powder instead of flakes. It came out so flavorful (I only marinated the breasts for about 2 hours. I Have never had the "mall" bourbon chicken that is so fondly spoken of in other reviews, so I had no expectations going in, lol. We will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winter Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harpswell, Maine, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States