Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
My brother requested this for his birthday dinner, so went to the store to get Bourbon and they only had huge bottles, the store owner suggested that I try a smaller bottle of Brandy, I made this recipe with a 1/4 cup of Brandy and it was amazing, I have made it about 4 times now & need to go back to the store to get more alcohol but since I did so well with the Brandy I am going to stick with it! This is now going on Heavy rotation in our house!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I added one small can of spicy V8 juice to the marinade....added just the perfect amount of spice. It's a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HongKongCV
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This is the basis for an exceptional meal. I used chicken thighs and changed the proportions of bourbon and brown sugar a bit. I also added cornstarch as a thickener to the sauce while it cooked. The result was quite good, and my family is already asking for it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HongKongCV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I have made this recipe several times now and we enjoy it more every time I make it. I do make changes and use thighs instead of chichen breast. Bake until juices run clear. That's it. Usually serve with rice. Have taken this to deer camp and everyone raved about it. If there were 10 stars that's what I would give this recipe. Thanks for a great recipe Lucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
It was good but not anxious to make it again. Used thigh meat but will try breast next time. Marinated for nine hours and then cooked in the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caleb1993
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I have been making this recipe for a while, but there are a few things I change first double the batch of marinade, no the chicken has enough. second add 2 tsp. of rice wine or white wine vinegar to that doubled amount of marinade, and only use half to marinade chicken, save the rest of the marinade. cut chicken into strips before marinading. cook on a large cast iron griddle (the kind that sets on two burners) over high heat. after the chicken is mostly cooked add the reserved marinade and cook until marinade turns into a thick syrup. serve with jambalaya or dirty rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caleb1993

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Carrollton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mssyann8
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I'm very sorry but the bourbon was overwhelming...I followed the recipe exactly and it tasted like I was taking a shot of bourbon instead of it just being an ingredient in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mssyann8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
my husband gave it a 5*.........said it was better then any he has had in any mall - i doubled the recipe he still raving about it the next day and wants it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juanita Smyth
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I made this for a Father's day BBQ for my residents at work. I cut the marinaded chicken up into chunks and sauteed them and served them on a warm kaiser roll as a sandwich. I couldn't use bourbon so i subbed it with apple concentrate and it was delicious. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Palos Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolivar, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I literally just made this tonight. I marinated 1/2 of the chicken overnight, I added another pound in the morning after inviting some friends to come over for dinner. The chicken that I added this morning tasted 1000 times better than the chicken that marinated overnight. I recommend marinating the chicken only for a few hours & not overnight. The chicken that marinated overnight was very tough. Secondly the chicken & sauce in general tasted very much like Bourbon. I recommend cutting down on the amount of Bourbon you use. It was good & I will probably make this again but next time with less Bourbon! Overall my family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States