Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
It was ok. Not my favorite but I may attempt to make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheEngstroms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA
Photo by Chef Helen
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Chicken was dry. I will follow others' suggestions next time and use dark meat. I modified the recipe a bit and followed others' tips when I cooked it. I mixed all the ingredients in a gallon sized zip-lock bag. Here are the following changes I made to the marinade: 2 tbsp vanilla extract 1/4 of minced onion 1 1/2 tsp garlic powder 1 cup brown sugar 50 ml bourbon whisky 1/2 cup soy sauce 1 tbsp grated ginger sliced chicken breasts I marinaded the chicken for 10 hours (overnight). Then I poured the entire mixture into a greased 9x13 baking dish and covered with aluminum foil for 1.5 hours at the suggested temp. (325F) The flavor was GREAT! But the chicken was still dry. I will definately use the marinade again for next time but with dark chicken meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I made this recipe with pork chops and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I was excited to find a Bourbon Chicken recipe with simple ingredients, as well as good reviews overall. On my second trial of this dish, I did, however, make some changes I believe for the better. First, used boneless skinless thighs (a bag of frozen chicken thighs, like Tyson). I doubled the marinade with the mesurements as writen, but then added about 3 tablespoons of oil (peanut), and topped off the brown sugar to 1 1/2 cup total. I also threw a few dashes of crushed red pepper, just for some contrast. Alot of reviewers said that the liquor taste was very strong, well I have a tip to try next time; you can subsitute Vanilla Extract(the cheap kind works best) for the bourbon. I personaly don't care for he taste of liquor, also this is what they use in the Mall. Tenderize and marinade in the fridge overnight in a gallon ziplock bag. As far as the cooking, I used the same time & temp, but covered the pan with foil until the last 15 or 20 minutes. This gave the chicken a great color and taste. The oil also helped with the browning. Serve the remaining sauce from the bottom of the pan with the chicken over rice or mashed potatoes. I hope these tips will inspire you to make this dish your own too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
384 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZINOHIO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Husband and I enjoyed it - my daughter can back for more and more and more. Didn't change a thing but this isn't like what you get at the mall
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I used this recipe to marinate a whole fryer for 2 hours then cooked the hen on a rotisserie for 2 hours. Delicious and not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DwightNT

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Irving, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Great recipe. My family loved it. I add more spice to give it a kick and I serve it over fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
THIS RECIPE WAS VERY OUTSTANDING THE CHICKEN WAS A HIT AT EVERYONE WHO ATE WAS VERY PLEASED WITH THE TASTE I RECOMMEND THIS RECIPE FOR EVERYONE TO TRY ( USE DARK MEAT INSTEAD OF BREAST)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
After reading all the reviews, I have to agree with many other people that 1)it needs more brown sugar, 2)to much bourbon taste, 3)should pan fry. Oven really dried it out. Sort of disappointed cause I really had my heart set on some good "mall-type" bourbon chicken. It was really dry. I deviated from the main recipe in that I sliced the chicken into strips, but the rest I followed to the T. Without a side of rice, I could not have eaten the chicken plain for the overpowering smell/taste of bourbon. I will tweak and try again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I used my slow cooker set for 5 hours, was dry next time will use thigh meat instead of breast. Other then that the sause was fantastic, will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaRenee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States