Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I really liked this. I did add a little less bourbon. I also made it in a crock pot, though the next time I do that I will double the soy sauce and not use nearly so much bourbon! For the crock pot I also added rice in, which I liked though the rice was sort of lost in the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This was awesome! We always make sure to marinade it overnight. Any less is not enough and any longer is too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EFFIE117

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I tried this recipe, but took the advice of another user as she said her recipe was just like the Malls. Sorry to say it was not even close. it tasted like French Toast!! Thanks to my son loving French Toast he still ate the chicken. I am still on the hunt for the closest tasting recipe to the Mall as possible. So far, no luck!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
It was ok. Not my favorite but I may attempt to make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheEngstroms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA
Photo by Chef Helen
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Chicken was dry. I will follow others' suggestions next time and use dark meat. I modified the recipe a bit and followed others' tips when I cooked it. I mixed all the ingredients in a gallon sized zip-lock bag. Here are the following changes I made to the marinade: 2 tbsp vanilla extract 1/4 of minced onion 1 1/2 tsp garlic powder 1 cup brown sugar 50 ml bourbon whisky 1/2 cup soy sauce 1 tbsp grated ginger sliced chicken breasts I marinaded the chicken for 10 hours (overnight). Then I poured the entire mixture into a greased 9x13 baking dish and covered with aluminum foil for 1.5 hours at the suggested temp. (325F) The flavor was GREAT! But the chicken was still dry. I will definately use the marinade again for next time but with dark chicken meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I made this recipe with pork chops and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I was excited to find a Bourbon Chicken recipe with simple ingredients, as well as good reviews overall. On my second trial of this dish, I did, however, make some changes I believe for the better. First, used boneless skinless thighs (a bag of frozen chicken thighs, like Tyson). I doubled the marinade with the mesurements as writen, but then added about 3 tablespoons of oil (peanut), and topped off the brown sugar to 1 1/2 cup total. I also threw a few dashes of crushed red pepper, just for some contrast. Alot of reviewers said that the liquor taste was very strong, well I have a tip to try next time; you can subsitute Vanilla Extract(the cheap kind works best) for the bourbon. I personaly don't care for he taste of liquor, also this is what they use in the Mall. Tenderize and marinade in the fridge overnight in a gallon ziplock bag. As far as the cooking, I used the same time & temp, but covered the pan with foil until the last 15 or 20 minutes. This gave the chicken a great color and taste. The oil also helped with the browning. Serve the remaining sauce from the bottom of the pan with the chicken over rice or mashed potatoes. I hope these tips will inspire you to make this dish your own too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
393 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZINOHIO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Husband and I enjoyed it - my daughter can back for more and more and more. Didn't change a thing but this isn't like what you get at the mall
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I used this recipe to marinate a whole fryer for 2 hours then cooked the hen on a rotisserie for 2 hours. Delicious and not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DwightNT

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Irving, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Great recipe. My family loved it. I add more spice to give it a kick and I serve it over fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States