Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I made this recipe with pork chops and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I was excited to find a Bourbon Chicken recipe with simple ingredients, as well as good reviews overall. On my second trial of this dish, I did, however, make some changes I believe for the better. First, used boneless skinless thighs (a bag of frozen chicken thighs, like Tyson). I doubled the marinade with the mesurements as writen, but then added about 3 tablespoons of oil (peanut), and topped off the brown sugar to 1 1/2 cup total. I also threw a few dashes of crushed red pepper, just for some contrast. Alot of reviewers said that the liquor taste was very strong, well I have a tip to try next time; you can subsitute Vanilla Extract(the cheap kind works best) for the bourbon. I personaly don't care for he taste of liquor, also this is what they use in the Mall. Tenderize and marinade in the fridge overnight in a gallon ziplock bag. As far as the cooking, I used the same time & temp, but covered the pan with foil until the last 15 or 20 minutes. This gave the chicken a great color and taste. The oil also helped with the browning. Serve the remaining sauce from the bottom of the pan with the chicken over rice or mashed potatoes. I hope these tips will inspire you to make this dish your own too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
380 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZINOHIO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Husband and I enjoyed it - my daughter can back for more and more and more. Didn't change a thing but this isn't like what you get at the mall
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I used this recipe to marinate a whole fryer for 2 hours then cooked the hen on a rotisserie for 2 hours. Delicious and not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DwightNT

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Irving, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Great recipe. My family loved it. I add more spice to give it a kick and I serve it over fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
THIS RECIPE WAS VERY OUTSTANDING THE CHICKEN WAS A HIT AT EVERYONE WHO ATE WAS VERY PLEASED WITH THE TASTE I RECOMMEND THIS RECIPE FOR EVERYONE TO TRY ( USE DARK MEAT INSTEAD OF BREAST)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
After reading all the reviews, I have to agree with many other people that 1)it needs more brown sugar, 2)to much bourbon taste, 3)should pan fry. Oven really dried it out. Sort of disappointed cause I really had my heart set on some good "mall-type" bourbon chicken. It was really dry. I deviated from the main recipe in that I sliced the chicken into strips, but the rest I followed to the T. Without a side of rice, I could not have eaten the chicken plain for the overpowering smell/taste of bourbon. I will tweak and try again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I used my slow cooker set for 5 hours, was dry next time will use thigh meat instead of breast. Other then that the sause was fantastic, will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaRenee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I love this recipe and I've made it a few times. I recommend reserving 1 or 2T (unflamed bourbon)and flaming the rest of the bourbon. Flaming the bourbon decreases the alcohol taste (but it also diminishes the overall flavor, which is why you should reserve some unflamed). I've tried the recipe with dried and fresh ingredients and of course, I say fresh is always best. It doesn't taste as good as the kind you can get at the mall (but that stuff is probably the most unhealthy version you could have).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This was very good. I haven't had Bourbon Chicken in years, and was so happy to find a recipe that was not only good, but so easy. The only thing I would change on this recipe would be to maybe cook it in a wok instead of baking it, but it was good baked! Definitely going to become a regular on our menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGONFLYLADY13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Sedgwick, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States