Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I tried all the bourbon chicken recipes online and made some adjustments here and there, but the flavor is always a little different from the bourbon chicken I have at malls. Luckily I found a good product online at bourbonchicken.com, and their sauces are awesome! Now I can save time preparing sauce ingredients, save money from buying bourbon chicken at the shopping mall, and have a great time doing grill with my kids. The flavor becomes so easy to achieve at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
This was awesome! Except for halving the recipe and using turkey instead of chicken I followed it exactly. The flavors were wonderfully and it was extremely moist. My husband didn't even realize it was turkey until I told him. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Recovery, Ohio, USA
Living In: Coldwater, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
My husband and I thought this dish was pretty good. I didn't have any ginger so I left that out. I let the chicken marinate for about 9 hours then I cooked it on the stovetop in my wok. I served it with rice and chinese vegetable mix. We will make this again! Also was a very quick dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARENDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pocahontas, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
May or may not make it again. It was pretty good, not AWESOME though. I substituted minced onions for onion flakes, and I cubed the chicken before baking for 45 minutes. If I do it again, I'll bake for a half hour, and increase the time if needed. Bourbon wasn't overbearing, and it was sweet, but also not overbearing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommeee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Winter Ivy
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This was the tastiest chicken I have ever made. The only modifications that I made were to use fresh garlic and onion powder instead of flakes. It came out so flavorful (I only marinated the breasts for about 2 hours. I Have never had the "mall" bourbon chicken that is so fondly spoken of in other reviews, so I had no expectations going in, lol. We will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winter Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harpswell, Maine, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Forget the bourbon and substitute with 2 cups white grape juice, then add 2 tablespoons sesame oil, and 2 tablesoons oyster sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Two things terribly wrong with this recipe - cooking time and the onion flakes. Cooking time is much too long. One hour is about perfect with the chicken quite tender and tasty. Cook for 1.5 hours and it's quite a different story with the chicken dried out and tasteless. Don't use onion flakes! If you like the taste of onion then add it as onion powder because the flakes look very odd and unappetizing on the finished product that leads everyone to ask "What is this stuff?". Overall, there is much wrong with the recipe - soy sauce taste too strong, bourbon taste too strong, and sickly sweet at the same time. I don't know how to alter the recipe either except I'm tempted to add some chicken broth to mellow out the flavors. Don't think I will bother though. Instead I will try out some other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I followed the adjustments made by others. Vanilla instead of bourbon, more brown sugar. My picky eating boyfriend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Very much like Charlie Chiang's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Delicious! Squeeze some fresh orange over your rice for added taste bud pleasure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pyewacket

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States