Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
My husband and I thought this dish was pretty good. I didn't have any ginger so I left that out. I let the chicken marinate for about 9 hours then I cooked it on the stovetop in my wok. I served it with rice and chinese vegetable mix. We will make this again! Also was a very quick dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARENDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pocahontas, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
May or may not make it again. It was pretty good, not AWESOME though. I substituted minced onions for onion flakes, and I cubed the chicken before baking for 45 minutes. If I do it again, I'll bake for a half hour, and increase the time if needed. Bourbon wasn't overbearing, and it was sweet, but also not overbearing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommeee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Winter Ivy
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This was the tastiest chicken I have ever made. The only modifications that I made were to use fresh garlic and onion powder instead of flakes. It came out so flavorful (I only marinated the breasts for about 2 hours. I Have never had the "mall" bourbon chicken that is so fondly spoken of in other reviews, so I had no expectations going in, lol. We will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winter Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harpswell, Maine, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Forget the bourbon and substitute with 2 cups white grape juice, then add 2 tablespoons sesame oil, and 2 tablesoons oyster sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Two things terribly wrong with this recipe - cooking time and the onion flakes. Cooking time is much too long. One hour is about perfect with the chicken quite tender and tasty. Cook for 1.5 hours and it's quite a different story with the chicken dried out and tasteless. Don't use onion flakes! If you like the taste of onion then add it as onion powder because the flakes look very odd and unappetizing on the finished product that leads everyone to ask "What is this stuff?". Overall, there is much wrong with the recipe - soy sauce taste too strong, bourbon taste too strong, and sickly sweet at the same time. I don't know how to alter the recipe either except I'm tempted to add some chicken broth to mellow out the flavors. Don't think I will bother though. Instead I will try out some other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I followed the adjustments made by others. Vanilla instead of bourbon, more brown sugar. My picky eating boyfriend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Very much like Charlie Chiang's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Delicious! Squeeze some fresh orange over your rice for added taste bud pleasure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pyewacket

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I loved it and wouldn't change a thing! Husband said he could taste the alcohol and was too sweet, so that's why I rated a four. I'll definetly make again, but maybe when he's out of town...haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I added more brown sugar and less bourbon (I used Jack Daniels). I used fresh onion and cooked the chicken on the stove with olive oil. I removed the cooked chicken and kept it warm in the oven. I added the marinade to the pan in which I cooked the chicken. I thickened it with cornstarch water. Served over rice with green beans on the side. It was a hit, but only because I read all the other reviews and modified the original recipe accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States