Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This didn't taste like any Burbon Chicken that we have had before. It was not really bad, but it is not a recipe that I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I took advice and cut it into small pieces and put into a crock-pot on low for the day. The chicken was a little dry but the taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cobble Hill, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I used recipe to marinate a chicken, then put on the rotissere. Was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I thought this was pretty good. Not the same thing that you get at the mall, but still good. I diced my chicken into bite-sized chunks and cooked it in a skillet with the sauce. When the chicken was cooked through, I added a slurry of cornstarch to thicken the sauce. I also added a handful of chopped onion. Several reviewers said that the bourbon had a strong taste, but I didn't find it to be so. I will definately try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camden, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I made this dish for my kids and myself...my 5 year old loved it but my 7 year old wouldnt eat it. I thought it was alright. This is the first recipe I have made from this site so I am hoping they get better. This was sweet but wasn't what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
The only changes that I made were - I used chicken breast cut into bite sized pieces. Instead of baking them, I cooked them on the stovetop in a covered skillet with the marinade. When the chicken was done, I removed it and reduced the marinade to use as a sauce. My husband could not stop raving about it and requested that next time I double the recipe. Next time I think that I will cut back on the amount of brown sugar and used chopped garlic instead of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopkinsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Great recipe!! to get more tender chicken i make this in the crockpot and let it all simmer all day -this also lets the "alchohol" taste burn off - very very good this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
My friends used to eat bourbon chicken in the malls nearly every day when we we were in the US for holidays. As this doesn't exist in Germany, I looked for a recipe o surprise him and he was overwhelmed! I am a vegetarian, so I split the marinade and poured half of it over 300gram of chicken breast and the other half over diced tofu. I prepared both separately in pans (fried 1/2 chopped onion in some olive oil first, then browned the chicken or tofu, then added the marinade and cooked for further 5 minutes) and it was awesome served with instant asia noodles. I had to fry the tofu longer than the chicken, though, because it soaked up much of the alcohol. But the taste vanished when the tofu was dark brown. I used about 1 ounce of soy sauce less as it was very salty the first time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This recipe was pretty good. We love bourbon chicken. There was something missing, not sure what. But over all an easy recipe and worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I don't usually like the taste of alcohol so I used vanilla extract instead of the bourbon, which turned out great. I let it marinate all morning instead of over night. I cooked it in the oven as directed for 1 1/2 hrs, but I wanted the sauce to stick to the chicken better so I transferred the sauce to a sauce pan on the stove top and added 1 Tbsp of cornstarch to thicken the sauce then added all the chicken to the stove top pan to coat well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States