Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I reviewed many recipes looking for one that matched the delicious shopping mall bourbon chicken and decided this one sounded the closest. I followed it exactly. Every ingredient, marinating and cooking times and direction were precisely followed. Though the result was pretty good tasting, though very sweet, it was NOT the shopping mall bourbon chicken I've tasted. I'm guessing that the shopping mall chicken does not use real bourbon due to its cost so my next try will be a recipe that doesn't use bourbon. Overall a good recipe but not the shopping mall bourbon chicken recipe it advertised. Guess I'll keep trying. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pearl City, Illinois, USA
Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I took some suggestions from other reviewers and modified the recipe by reducing the soy sauce to 2 oz, increasing the brown sugar to 3/4 cup. I subbed Brandy in place of the Bourbon, as that is what I had on hand and I think it worked beautifully in this recipe. I reserved half of the marinade before letting the chunked chicken soak in it for about 12 hours. I cooked the chicken on the stovetop and when chicken was mostly cooked I added the reserved sauce to finish cooking. I would not hesitate to make the same modifications when making this recipe again. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, Lucy Loo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This was just ok, not great and probably something I would not make again without extensive changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Definitely didn't taste like the stuff in the mall. I really didn't expect it to but thought it would be close. Maybe I did something wrong. It had nice a flavor. I hate to say this since I love bourbon but some bites definitely tasted like there was too much bourbon. Thanks anyway but I wouldn't even attempt a second try to see if I can tweak it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I try to follow recipe as written before rating, but I was short a little soy sauce (had about half). Still came out outstanding (never had the mall version, so don't know if it's matched). Served over rice, family raved about it. Next time I'll make extra marinade to reserve as a sauce after cookig
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carpenter115

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This is a great recipe with fabulous flavor. Made it in the crock pot with just a couple modifications. I substituted 1/4 cup vanilla extract + 1/4 cup water for the bourbon, increased the brown sugar to 3/4 cup based on other reviews, and used 4 tsp of minced garlic (not dried). I did not marinate, just cooked in crock pot for 4 hours on high and turned out delicious. Served on top of brown rice. We are adding this to our list of regular favorites! The sauce was thin, so I am thinking it would turn out fine without adding the extra water, and will probably try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Yummy! I marinaded it in the morning not overnight and I used fresh ginger because I had some. It smelled so good I couldn't wait for dinner I scooped some out and made it for lunch I'm so glad I doubled this recipe everyone had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ktbowers
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Not terrible but basically tasted like chicken marinated in soy sauce. I did let it marinate for 2 days so that was probably a mistake. I would cut back on the soy sauce next time. You couldn't taste the bourbon at all. May try again with a few tweaks. Also would cook maybe an hr, chicken was pretty dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
was not good going to try best bourbon chicken. hope that comes out better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Waaaay too much soy sauce! I had to doctor it up so the kids would attempt to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States