Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Just made this. I used 2 skinless boneless chicken breasts and 6 boneless skinless thighs. I strained the chicken after marinating and stir fried it in batches to brown it up a bit. After transferring the chicken to a separate bowl I poured the remaining marinade into the pan and reduced it to a nice sauce. I then returned the chicken to the pan and stirred the chicken to coat it with the sauce. I served it over rice and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I've made this recipe twice now. It's very good. I use Southern Comfort for the bourbon. The second time I made it, I used boneless skinless chicken thighs. It was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Delicious. Made it with no bourbon. I doubled the ginger, soy and brown sugar. Cut the chicken into pieces. Didn't marinate. Just put it all together and threw it into the oven. Cooked it for about an hour. Mix it around half way through cooking so the sauce gets into everything. Served with Jasmine rice and a side of veggies. Even my six year old asked for more. Definitely a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I was very disappointed in this recipe. Marinating the chicken overnight, made it very rubbery, and it was not very flavorful. It was expensive to make with the bourbon, so that was a bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Needed 20 minutes shorter cooking time. Otherwise it was amazing. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Eastman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Unlike several other reviewers I wasn't attempting to exactly mimic the mall food (why would I?) This is a great recipe with a few tweaks for personal taste. I cut the breasts into large chunks and used another reviewer's suggestion to stir-fry until chicken was cooked and sauce had thickened to a syrup. I substituted 1 tsp ginger paste for the ground ginger and next time I'll use more just because we love it. I don't understand why some users greatly increased the sugar- this is an entrée, not dessert! Serve with rice or pearl couscous and stir-fried veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Followed the recipe as directed and the chicken turned out dry. Also, the sauce tasted too much like whisky and soy sauce for my family's taste. I'd recommend pan frying (as some reviewers mentioned) in lieu of baking the chicken. Will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Didn't like this recipe at all and was shocked because of the high rating. I marinated the chicken overnight and it turned out very dry. The marinade itself also didn't taste good, the bourbon was too strong and it tasted nothing like the bourbon chicken I love at the mall. Definitely won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
DELICIOUS! I cut the chicken into strips and allowed to marinate for about 4 hours. Then I pan fried the chicken with the sauce. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bernie t

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Taste too much like whiskey for my families liking. And Chicken was dry. Could of just been my technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States