Bourbon Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Wonderful, I doubled the bourbon. Make these a day or two in advance so the bourbon flavor gets stronger. I rolled mine in granulated sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Great recipie, hint: use double the bourbon and add a tablespoon of corn syrup. if the mix looks loose let set 15 or so min. also a cookie scoop(looks like a small ice cream scoop) works great to get them all uniform also speeds up the prosess. Have fun
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
its a easy recipe to fallow for the first time cooker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is a scaled down version of what is in my Southern Living cookbook. It's all the same ingredients, just less of each one. Like with what is in my book, I had to add a little more here and there to get the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Dickerson Cowden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
These are so good. If you have trouble rolling into balls, just refrigerate for a little bit. These have been a real hit in Iraq and brought some joy to my husband and the soldiers he works with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife892

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I just made these today for a Christmas party this weekend. It was funny...when I was measuring the 1/4 shot of bourbon I thought, "what the heck, that doesn't seem like enough" and gave it a quick shot more. Do not try this at your home!! I used Jim Beam Black and they are strooooong! But whose complaining? I like them. But then again, I like the taste of Bourbon. These have turned out great and I will be making them often...using only the amount of bourbon called for, of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
These are always a hit in my Christmas gift baskets. I make them several days in advance and leave out for 24 hours. Then I refrigerate for a few days. I find that the taste mellows the longer you wait to serve them.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I give these as gifts for christmas.Everyone loves them and they are so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I've made this recipe with both bourbon and rum and both turned out great. You definately have to like whatever alcohol you use when making these because every bourbon ball recipe i've ever tried has a strong flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
This one just didn't work out well for us. It was too crumbly and I added more corn syrup and it improved. Was a bit grainy and very stong tasting (used Jim Beam bourbon) - however, I served them along with another recipe of the balls at a party last night and the group praised both and seemed to eat both equally so it may just be a matter of individual taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States