Bourbon Apple Cider and Honey Glazed Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Awesome recipe. I used boneless skinless chicken breasts instead. It was scrumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I cooked the "glaze" for over 20 min and it never did turn into a glaze...so the chops just sat in liquid and cooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Awesome!! My family loves this. Have made it several times. Im not sure what the first reviewer did wrong but i do know your not supposed to let the porch chop set in the glaze. It clearly says to brush it on the chops while they cook and its thickens as it cools
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Took much longer for the glaze to reduce to 1/2 cup than the recipe indicates and did not thicken as it cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Someone commented that the glaze was runny and didn't ever produce a glaze. I followed the recipe exactly and my glaze turned out perfect. I'm wondering if maybe the whisky didn't get reduced long enough. If you reduce it, it doesn't render a whole lot, but the glaze thickened up nicey. If you add the whisky before reducing, it will be runny. I also always marinate my pork in Coca-cola. It tenderizes pork beautifully. Discard the marinade before baking for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I used this glaze over parboiled country style pork ribs and butternut squash cubes. I cooked them together for an hour at 375. I brushed with glaze and basted with pan juices every 15 minutes. The ribs were perfect. The squash was perfect. This glaze is perfect! I used honey balsamic vinegar and Jamesons whiskey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
this is terrific! I never could get the glaze to cook down to what i would consider a glaze consistency and that was before I added the reduced bourbon (Jack D). I did put a little more honey in the glaze at the start as it was a little too vinegary for my husband. regardless, it was great. I just basted the chops about every ten minutes, kept the remainder of the liquid warm and served that as a dipping sauce. I also served cubed baked sweet potatoes and before serving, I poured some of the liquid in those as well. It was delicious. My husband is a light, picky eater and even had seconds. Will definitely make again as we enjoyed it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I MADE THIS LAST NIGHT FOR HUBBY AND OLDER DAUGHTER. THEY WERE AMAZING!!! BEST PORK LOIN CHOPS WE HAVE EVER HAD. OURS WERE 1 1/2 TO 2 INCHES THICK, SO I BRINED THEM IN WATER, BROWN SUGAR, SALT, A FRESH THYME, ROSEMARY AND SAGE SPRIG FOR 4 HOURS BEFORE COOKING.I DID SAUTE A HALF CHOPPED ONION AND 2 FRESH GARLIC CLOVES SLICED PRIOR TO ADDING THE OTHER GLAZE INGREDIENTS, BUT THAT WAS THE ONLY CHANGE I MADE. ALSO, ONLY HAD ABOUT 2 TABLESPOONS OF WHISKEY (MAKERS MARK) BUT THE GLAZE REDUCED TO AN AMAZING SAUCE WITH THE PERFECT CONSISTENCY. I BROWNED, THEN BASTED THE CHOPS FOLLOWED BY 20 MINUTES IN THE OVEN; THEN CONTINUALLY BASTED THEM. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Glaze took 3x specified time to reduce at low temperature. Cooking time was way too long - used 1 inch bone-in pork chops and they were at 175 by 30 minutes (USDA says they only need to be at 145). Maybe I should have used thicker chops, but an hour is way too long at 350. Glaze was one dimensional - just sweet, not much flavor. Wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Loved the flavor but had to increase for my large family. This took significantly longer to reduce so next time I will make the glaze ahead of time. I topped it with a caramelized onion, apple, cranberry and brown sugar concoction. It was amazing. Can't wait to try it with a pork loin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States