Bourbon Apple Cider and Honey Glazed Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Good sweet glaze, had trouble getting the glaze to cook down so we added a little water and corn starch rue to thicken it up. Used Crown Royal Apple Whiskey as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Delicious! Everyone loved this, only thing is in my electric oven took about 1 hour 20 min to cook 4 chops fully. Still was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I couldn't get the liquid to reduce to a glaze. Recipe said to double it for a ham. I did so but it stayed " liquidy" and "thin". I spent so much time on it that I didn't have time to prepare anything else. Disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyce
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Loved the flavor but had to increase for my large family. This took significantly longer to reduce so next time I will make the glaze ahead of time. I topped it with a caramelized onion, apple, cranberry and brown sugar concoction. It was amazing. Can't wait to try it with a pork loin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Glaze took 3x specified time to reduce at low temperature. Cooking time was way too long - used 1 inch bone-in pork chops and they were at 175 by 30 minutes (USDA says they only need to be at 145). Maybe I should have used thicker chops, but an hour is way too long at 350. Glaze was one dimensional - just sweet, not much flavor. Wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I MADE THIS LAST NIGHT FOR HUBBY AND OLDER DAUGHTER. THEY WERE AMAZING!!! BEST PORK LOIN CHOPS WE HAVE EVER HAD. OURS WERE 1 1/2 TO 2 INCHES THICK, SO I BRINED THEM IN WATER, BROWN SUGAR, SALT, A FRESH THYME, ROSEMARY AND SAGE SPRIG FOR 4 HOURS BEFORE COOKING.I DID SAUTE A HALF CHOPPED ONION AND 2 FRESH GARLIC CLOVES SLICED PRIOR TO ADDING THE OTHER GLAZE INGREDIENTS, BUT THAT WAS THE ONLY CHANGE I MADE. ALSO, ONLY HAD ABOUT 2 TABLESPOONS OF WHISKEY (MAKERS MARK) BUT THE GLAZE REDUCED TO AN AMAZING SAUCE WITH THE PERFECT CONSISTENCY. I BROWNED, THEN BASTED THE CHOPS FOLLOWED BY 20 MINUTES IN THE OVEN; THEN CONTINUALLY BASTED THEM. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
this is terrific! I never could get the glaze to cook down to what i would consider a glaze consistency and that was before I added the reduced bourbon (Jack D). I did put a little more honey in the glaze at the start as it was a little too vinegary for my husband. regardless, it was great. I just basted the chops about every ten minutes, kept the remainder of the liquid warm and served that as a dipping sauce. I also served cubed baked sweet potatoes and before serving, I poured some of the liquid in those as well. It was delicious. My husband is a light, picky eater and even had seconds. Will definitely make again as we enjoyed it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I used this glaze over parboiled country style pork ribs and butternut squash cubes. I cooked them together for an hour at 375. I brushed with glaze and basted with pan juices every 15 minutes. The ribs were perfect. The squash was perfect. This glaze is perfect! I used honey balsamic vinegar and Jamesons whiskey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Someone commented that the glaze was runny and didn't ever produce a glaze. I followed the recipe exactly and my glaze turned out perfect. I'm wondering if maybe the whisky didn't get reduced long enough. If you reduce it, it doesn't render a whole lot, but the glaze thickened up nicey. If you add the whisky before reducing, it will be runny. I also always marinate my pork in Coca-cola. It tenderizes pork beautifully. Discard the marinade before baking for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Took much longer for the glaze to reduce to 1/2 cup than the recipe indicates and did not thicken as it cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States