Bouillabaisse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
This recipe is superb. My husband begs me to make this dish at least once a week. If you're a seafood eater, this is a terrific dish for you. Also, I've tried it with and without the saffron to appease varying taste-buds, and both ways are excellent. The only down side to this recipe is that quality seafood can be rough on the pocketbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
What a tasty soup! Must be an east coast recipe and being on the west coast I had to alter a few things as far as seafood. I used fresh cod fillets, clams, prawns, and large scallops. It was great. Make sure you start prepping a little early, it takes a while to chop up and prepare all the ingredients......But it is sooo worth it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
A big hit at my dinner party. I made the soup base the day before and it had a wonderful rich flavour when all the fish was added. Not to mention it made things much easier to have had all the "fiddely" work done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This soup had the beginnings of something great...but I made it even better by using an adaptation from an old French neighbor. I used one large can of Roma tomatoes instead of the fresh ones and in place of the broth I used...wait for it...3/4 bottle of a dry but light white wine...chardonnay or sauterne will do nicely! I also added sea scallops a few minutes prior to serving...with just enough time to cook them without making them tough. My boyfriend can't eat mussels so I steamed the mussels in the remaining wine and added them after the fact. I also added a small lobster tail for each guest, to the delight of everyone! Serve this with a first course of squid ink pasta with lemon butter and salmon caviar, a green salad with homemade vinaigrette and French bread and let the compliments begin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Pretty disappointing. I hate to say that because I really wanted this to be great, but it wasn't. It was very bland and boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2001
After chopping up the veggies, the soup was very easy to prepare. It is satisfying and full of flavor. I will be making this soup on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Had this last night at a dinner party and it was sensational! Crab, lobster, scallops, shrimp, mussels, clams and scallops were used in this dish. Truly magnificent and restaurant worthy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Excellent. I used shrimp, scallops, mussels(in shell), clams(in shell) and grouper cheeks. My fish store, which is on the shore, sells to restaurants and has packs of grouper cheeks just for this purpose. Everyone loved the fish. I used the recipe proportions for 10 for six of us and had very little left over. cse
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2001
This is so good; everyone wanted me to cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2000
Served this at my last dinner party. This dish was a huge success. I have already received requests to serve it at my next party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States