Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I am prefacing this by saying I've never had gumbo before so this was my first time. It may have be that I just don't really care for gumbo...I thought the flavor was just ok. I definitely had to add tabasco sauce. I cut the recipe in half and it still made a giant pot of gumbo. Neither myself nor by husband really thought much of the dish so I'm not sure what to do with the leftovers that I've frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Substituted jalapenos for chilis. Didn't use celery. Added shrimp last minute. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I eat the chicken and sausage gumbo soup from Campbell's and was so excited to make the real thing. I made it exactly as the recipes specified (minus the shrimp) and I did not care for itl. WAY WAY too much oil and too much creole seasoning. I ended up draining all the liquid from it and serving it over rice to kill some of the overpowering taste of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Best gumbo ever. I used 1/2 cup of olive oil and a little less flour. My family loved this gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Magnolia, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
add okra & file powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nblackburn
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Oh my goodness..this was fantastic! My boys ate 2 bowls each!! This is a recipe which will be made again and again in my house. The only difference is next time, I will double the meats (chicken breast and andouille sausage). I did cut the chicken broth down to 2 qts and 1 beer so mine was a bit thicker. Also, like another one of the reviewers, I will bump it up with yellow, red and orange peppers, plus frozen okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is awesome..also decreased broth (out of necessity--that's all I had) used cajun sausage (out of the casing) chicken and shrimp! Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris71

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
It's a delicious dinner (and even better left-overs). It freezes well, which makes up for the length to make it, and it has just the right level of heat. I don't know how the original is 10 servings, I ended up with 13 cups after probably taking 2-3 for dinner. 2 things I have to say, though. The total time, especially if you want a darker roux, is not 2 hours. I did a medium brown roux, and I ended up taking 3 hours on this. Also, I let it sit for 15 minutes after cooking, to let it thicken up. That's when I threw in the shrimp. They ended up perfectly cooked, rather than the rubbery comments that other people have given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
We LOVED this recipe! I made very minor tweaks - I cooked a small chicken and used the broth/chicken for the base. I also used Hillshire Farms turkey kielbasa instead of sausage links, and did not add shrimp because of shellfish allergies. Everything else was the same and it was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I double the chicken and sausage and skip the shrimp. Great recipe thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States