Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Yum yum yum! I used 3 cups of chicken broth, canned tomatoes, and didn't have chicken or shrimp so I added kielbasa. I should of sautéed the celery before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Searoll
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Took others suggestion and cut back the chicken broth to 2 qts, although it was plenty thin even then. Think next time I'll make more roux to thicken it more. I left out the red chile peppers because it was hot enough without it. I love gumbo but the heat does get to me. It's very good though! The local restaurant wants $8 for a bowl. I made the entire soup for what it cost for 2 bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Kibbe-Riddle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This was really good but really spicy. I pretty much followed the recipe with just a few changes. For the chicken I used 2 cups of a cooked roasted chicken from the store (it was great and saved time). For the sausage I used an Andouille Sausage (cajun - delicious)and increased quanity to 16oz. Increased quanity of shrimp to 2 pounds. Decreased chicken broth to 72oz. The recipe calls for "red fresh chile peppers" which is redundant. Chile is spanish for pepper so I used a red jalapeno pepper. The end product was VERY spicy so next time I will probably tone down the heat so its more acceptable to more people. One thing I was disappointed in was the fact that the recipe did not call for white rice and so I forgot it. Everybody knows you have to have white rice with gumbo. I wont forget next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Love this recipe, the only Gumbo I have ever tried, no sense in looking for another one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I rarely have time to cook anything that takes more than 45 min, but this was so worth it! It was so delicious with just the right amount of kick. I followed the recipe exactly and I got so many compliments on the flavor. It made enough to freeze for later enjoyment. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I loved this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Great recipe! Must add the rice though. I used smoked Turkey sausage and Central Waters Mud Puppy Porter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Great flavor! Only thing different I did was went heavy on Cajun seasoning for extra added zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
LOVE this recipe. Now we are vegetarians who do eat seafood. so I adjust it..using the fake chicken...and the fake brats for the meat part. I add the shrimp just before we served it..a few minutes is all it needs to cook. I use a good strong beer..like beck or guiness. Oh I have made this several times..making it again tomorrow night for guests..and yes yes yes..this is the BEST. I just got back from NOLA our favorite city in the USA and this recipe rivals all that we saw there (not many vegetarian versions I must admit ha ha)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I never thought I could make "real" gumbo. WOW, it was awesome. I will have to say that I think the trick is in the roux. I browned mine till dark brown almost ashy using the sausage drippings also. I used an extra can of broth and added okra and corn. After bringing all to a boil I threw it into my crockpot minus the shrimp. The last hour of cooking I added in some of the rice to soak up some flavor and oil. Before serving I did the shrimp in the skillet and then served by adding rice to bowl, then soup and topped with 5-6 of the shrimp. I had a lot left over so I froze and will do the same when reheating....making shrimp fresh and adding it last. I will have to say that the beer did enhance the flavour I used Fosters. I cut up fresh jalapenos and chillies to serve on the side for those that wanted more heat. Served with Sweet Jalapeno cornbread! YUMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Dunlap Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 493) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States