Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Br0k3nH3arts
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I never had gumbo before (maybe something from a can once upon a time) let alone made it. I thought it was great. I added okra to mine for the heck of it. It worked out well I think. The only thing I will do differently is add more seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
little less salt, other than that it was new Orleans in michigan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Great recipe! I would lower the amount of liquid and add more meat but overall definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michael
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I tried this recipe and I just love it I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
From a deep South LA girl: Really tasty recipe, but needed one big revision, in my opinion. Made as is, this recipe is way hotter than many of us even in S LA like it! Contrary to popular opinion, Cajun food is supposed to be spicy as in flavorful with lots of seasoning, not so hot you can't eat it. Most Mexican food we eat is way hotter than our good Cajun food. That being said, as we eat it is still way too hot for most Yankees. Anyway, it is better without the 2 TBSP fresh chilis and I prefer only 1 - 2 TBSP of Tony's Creole -- each seasoning is different, but 1/4 cup of Tony's would be so salty we'd gag eating it, and we like things pretty salty compared to most. Having always made my roux with butter rather than olive oil, which is our traditional way, I was interested to try the oil. It turned out very well, good for those people who believe butter is bad for you. Not being a believer in that theory (since most of my family lived to 100 or so eating tons of butter and animal fats their whole lives), I will probably use butter most of the time. I also use chicken thighs rather than breasts. Don't put the garlic in the roux as that burns too easily. Sautee veggies first. Add 1 cup Okra last 10 min. Not liking overcooked shrimp, I sautee them separately in garlic-infused butter (2 TBSP) w/ bit of salt and pepper for 3 minutes. Also, put in 1/2 lb sausage for flavor, but serve another 1 lb fried sausage with the cooked shrimp on top of ea serving. Then, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Berryville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Came out more like soup. I will cut back on the chicken broth next time. I used chicken thighs to make my own broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This recipe is awesome! I use Shiner Bock beer. Chicken is thrown in a crock pot frozen, then shredded after 8 hours-it works perfectly. I use much less chicken broth with my gumbo though. My in-laws from the north love this. It's one of my wife's favorite meals now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This came out really good but I tell you we didn't add the red chile nor cayenne pepper in our house made cajun seasoning and it was plenty spicy from the Rotel tomato and chili and I used the mild one. We are not faint spice eaters either but any hotter wouldn't have made this enjoyable. I added okra as well as others had recommended. Will be making again definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsuzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Being an Ohio native and never having gumbo in my life I thought I would try this. Never having gumbo I wouldn't know if I had it right or not. I followed this recipe to a tee and then took some to my brother in law who grew up in Louisiana (LSU Grad) and has eaten it his entire life. All he told me was I had better keep this recipe because it was one of the best gumbos he has ever tasted, followed up by a quick "sorry ma and grandma". I would suggest this one to anyone looking for a gumbo recipe. This has made me a true gumbo lover !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is a winner every time! Even my 3 year old loves this gumbo! The only change we make is omitting the diced pepper and using less broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States