Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was my first time making gumbo and this turned out GREAT! I did change it a bit to halve the cajun seasoning (it was still plenty spicy), and omit the roma tomatoes. I used about 5 C. of chicken broth as others suggested. Next time I would use very low fat/low sodium broth to cut the salt. I also decided to add some diced red, orange and yellow peppers to give it more color - and sauteed the whole veggie mix separately to soften the sweet onion and peppers together before adding it to the roux. I used a dark beer and I think it added a particular flavor and nuttiness to the gumbo unlike any I've had elsewhere. The previous comment about working with the roux for as much as 30 minutes on medium/low (until it is a sort of peanut butter consistency and color) was a great tip - made all the difference - but you do have to stir the roux constantly. This definitely makes enough to feed 6 or even 8 people. Truly a recipe I will make again for a large crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javagal2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was very good! I did think it was a little liquidy for my taste (a liquid stewp consistency)...for total amt of liquid (beer+broth) I would decr amt of broth by 1 1/2-2c, keep 2 beers (amber is best) as part of total. Add Tony C. seasoning during roux making part. Can put liquids in crock on low all day THEN add meats + I added Okra (1-2 cups), can of lump crabmeat at end too. BTW- tradit. served over a lump of rice .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This is the best gumbo in the world! There is no way that you can go wrong cooking this as a party gumbo. Your guests will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was a little salty for me, but the men in my family loved it. if you read the other reviews and use less broth then consider cutting back on cajun seasoning. Also, less celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Yummy! I increased the meat and decreased the chicken broth for a heartier gumbo. I have 2 kids, so I used only the tomatoes with green chiles and omitted the red ones, and it was plenty spicy still. I spent all afternoon cooking, but it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Millersburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I enjoyed making Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo. The only thing more enjoyable then making this gumbo is eatting it. I left out the red peper in attempt to keep the gumbo mild, to no avail. I also took the advse if others and cut down the amount of chicken brooth to about half. Non the less the receipt is a keeper. Many thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
FAB-U-LOUS!!!!!!! I used less broth (so it was thicker), no beer (we don't drink), dried minced onions, and I forget the celery. It was great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANTOINETTE_ROYAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
BEST GUMBO EVER! Hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wynter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This is, by far, the best gumbo recipe on the planets!! This is awesome fresh out of the pot, leftovers the next day, or even freezes well. I always make a huge pot so I can freeze some for those days I am too busy to cook. My family loves this, including the kids (I do omit the extra chili peppers but def leave the spicy Ro-Tel and a big palmful of Tony's), and I always get great compliments from anyone lucky enough to stop by when I am making it. As most of us do, I tweaked this a little to meet my family's likes, as well as including some okra from our garden (grown specifically for gumbo!) I've also used anything I have on hand including andouille sausage or even smoked sausage from Hillshire farm for great flavor. I also toss the chicken with flour to be sure the "juice" is more "gravy-ish" when I make a giant pot. We use med to large fresh or flash-frozen shrimp at the very end. The small to med-small shrimp get lost in a big pot o' gumbo, plus will get rubbery too quick. We've also tried Zatarain's, Louisiana Brand, and Tony Chachere's creole seasoning and I think the Tony's wins - hands down! Thanks so much for the best Gumbo recipe on the planet!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelleigh N Paul Killian
Home Town: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Cut back on the broth and spices, also used sausage, shrimp and bell pepper. Put everything in the crock pot and let it cook on low all day. It was good but I didn't care for the taste of the green chili peppers, I will leave those out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 493) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States