Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
WOW this is a fantastic recipe!! The only modifications we made were to add a can of tomato paste and some cooked rice at the very end. The flavor is amazing!! My husband asked for double the amount of sausage and chicken next time - but I think it's great as-is. We will definitely make this again - and have it in our rotation of favorite recipes. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Excellent! The parsley adds a freshness to the rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Made this for dinner tonight. I cut the chicken broth to 80 oz and added 16 oz of water. I used Zataran's creole seasoning- 3 tablespoons, and file powder, didn't measure, just added until it tasted right. I used three whole jalapenos chopped fine, and I sauteed the vegetables in a little olive oil/butter and then added to the broth mixture. For my roux, I used 1/2 cup olive oil and 1 stick of real butter, I think butter adds a depth to the flavor, but that is just a personal preference. Served with rice and cornbread. This is a keeper. Next time I will add okra, I would have this time, but I didn't have any fresh or frozen. It is kind of spicy, but we like it warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roaring River, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Mocksville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This Is very tasty , a little spicy so my kids didn't eat very much ... But my husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Great recipe! Subbed chicken breasts with boneless chicken thighs. Added frozen okra and finished with gumbo file. Reduced the amount of cajun seasoning to 2 TBS (because of the salt) but added some hot sauce for heat. Also cooked some white rice and added it to the gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I cut it down to about 2 Tbsps each of oil and flour and got the same great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Br0k3nH3arts
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I never had gumbo before (maybe something from a can once upon a time) let alone made it. I thought it was great. I added okra to mine for the heck of it. It worked out well I think. The only thing I will do differently is add more seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
little less salt, other than that it was new Orleans in michigan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Great recipe! I would lower the amount of liquid and add more meat but overall definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michael
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I tried this recipe and I just love it I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 481) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States