Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
We LOVED this!!! This was my first ever attempt to make gumbo... it tasted exactly like I wanted it to!! Beautiful recipe. I didn't have a red chili, so I used a fresh jalepeno. It was fine. I used a couple of spoonfuls of bacon grease in my roux - FANTASTIC! I didn't add the shrimp until the whole pot of gumbo was done.. then I dumped them in long enough to cook through then served it all over brown rice. HOKEY FRIGHT I am now of the belief that I CAN COOK EXCELLENT GUMBO! lol Thank you Lupe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Jane~

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I was feeling lazy so I used precooked frozen Tyson cubed chicken to cut down some of the cooking time. I also omitted the red chile peppers to cut some of the heat for my kids. I increased the meat all around to keep the husband happy. Great flavor still a little spicy for my kids even though they were the one begging me to make it thanks to watching the princess and the frog. Served over rice with cornbread and a gallon of milk LOL. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Photo by RAPTORSHARK
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I precooked 2 chicken breasts in slow cooker then shredded, used 30oz of smoked sausage, 3 cans low sodium chicken broth, 1 can busch, 1 can diced tomatoes and 1 can crushed tomatoes, green chiles, red bell pepper, celery, onion, parsley, a lot of seasonings that I like. I followed directions for the roux, and served over brown rice. Thank you for the recipe idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAPTORSHARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
yes, you read that right, 1 C olive oil/1 C flour. It was fantastic, take the time to brown the roux at least as dark as peanut butter. I used an oktoberfest beer; and 3 qts stock would be WAAAY too much fluid. I used about 1 qt stock, but just add a cup or two at a time until it's a little bit too thick. When you add the veggies.....and then the shrimp 10 min before serving, it will thin a bit more, or you can always add a bit more stock to bring it to the thickness you like. Top with red pepper flakes and serve over rice,rave, rave, rave........what unbelievable flavor the beer adds!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Next time I'm going to decrease the liquid by half. Once you mix in the rice, it's nice & thick. But without the rice it's pretty soupy. Plus it would be nice if the proportion of liquid to ingredients was a little more balanced. I used andouille sausage & added crab. I think I will also look through some of the other reviews & see if anyone did thier own take on the roux. This one made for a very oily gumbo, albeit very delicious! Thanks for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoOkInGnUt
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Very Good but picked out the Shrimp. They got way to rubbery for me when cooking. I would make this again and leave the shrimp to the very very end. Also save some of the spices to rub on them while they hang out an wait to be cooked so they can soak up some flavor to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
My husband and my kids love this recipe. The reviews and suggestions from others helped greatly. I cheat a few things on this recipe. I skip the chicken and increase the shrimp and sausage. I only use 3-4 cans of chicken broth-this made the gumbo a perfect consistency for us. I also used "cocktail" shrimp and only added it in the last 5 minutes to heat. I chose already cooked sausage, such as Hillshire Farm. These small changes cut down on the prep time and the gumbo is still AMAZING, my husband gives it rave reviews. It makes a large batch, but for my family that's a bonus-we'll have plenty for a second meal that's just as tasty but no work time for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is really good. I used a jalapeno instead of chili pepper, because store didn't have. Added frozen okra as other suggested and thought it was a nice addition. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This is an easy quality gumbo. I like my gumbo with a little kick and this did not have much to speak of. If you would like a little extra add a tbsp of red pepper flakes. If you would like a little more, also add a tsp of white and a tsp of red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
OMG!!! THIS RECIPE IS THE BOMB, I HAVE MADE THIS RECIPE SEVERAL TIMES AND MY HUSBAND AND KIDS LOVE IT. I ADDED OLD BAY SEASONING AND IT WAS GREAT. EVERY TIME I HAVE MADE THIS GUMBO, IT HAS TASTED BETTER THAN BEFORE. PLEEEAAAAASSSSE KEEP THE RECIPES COMING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States