Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Naomi Blackburn
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Oh my goodness..this was fantastic! My boys ate 2 bowls each!! This is a recipe which will be made again and again in my house. The only difference is next time, I will double the meats (chicken breast and andouille sausage). I did cut the chicken broth down to 2 qts and 1 beer so mine was a bit thicker. Also, like another one of the reviewers, I will bump it up with yellow, red and orange peppers, plus frozen okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Blackburn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is awesome..also decreased broth (out of necessity--that's all I had) used cajun sausage (out of the casing) chicken and shrimp! Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris71

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
It's a delicious dinner (and even better left-overs). It freezes well, which makes up for the length to make it, and it has just the right level of heat. I don't know how the original is 10 servings, I ended up with 13 cups after probably taking 2-3 for dinner. 2 things I have to say, though. The total time, especially if you want a darker roux, is not 2 hours. I did a medium brown roux, and I ended up taking 3 hours on this. Also, I let it sit for 15 minutes after cooking, to let it thicken up. That's when I threw in the shrimp. They ended up perfectly cooked, rather than the rubbery comments that other people have given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
We LOVED this recipe! I made very minor tweaks - I cooked a small chicken and used the broth/chicken for the base. I also used Hillshire Farms turkey kielbasa instead of sausage links, and did not add shrimp because of shellfish allergies. Everything else was the same and it was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I double the chicken and sausage and skip the shrimp. Great recipe thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!!! I did a little revision to it, but other than that it came out fantastic! Instead of roma tomatoes used two cans of diced tomatoes, a can of crushed tomatoes. I also used the majority of a 48 oz box of chicken broth instead of 3 quarts. I cooked some okra separately and added it in when I added the chicken and sausage. Shrimp was put in the last 10 mins, so it wouldn't be rubbery. It turned out so good and we had plenty of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was my first time making gumbo and this turned out GREAT! I did change it a bit to halve the cajun seasoning (it was still plenty spicy), and omit the roma tomatoes. I used about 5 C. of chicken broth as others suggested. Next time I would use very low fat/low sodium broth to cut the salt. I also decided to add some diced red, orange and yellow peppers to give it more color - and sauteed the whole veggie mix separately to soften the sweet onion and peppers together before adding it to the roux. I used a dark beer and I think it added a particular flavor and nuttiness to the gumbo unlike any I've had elsewhere. The previous comment about working with the roux for as much as 30 minutes on medium/low (until it is a sort of peanut butter consistency and color) was a great tip - made all the difference - but you do have to stir the roux constantly. This definitely makes enough to feed 6 or even 8 people. Truly a recipe I will make again for a large crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javagal2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was very good! I did think it was a little liquidy for my taste (a liquid stewp consistency)...for total amt of liquid (beer+broth) I would decr amt of broth by 1 1/2-2c, keep 2 beers (amber is best) as part of total. Add Tony C. seasoning during roux making part. Can put liquids in crock on low all day THEN add meats + I added Okra (1-2 cups), can of lump crabmeat at end too. BTW- tradit. served over a lump of rice .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This is the best gumbo in the world! There is no way that you can go wrong cooking this as a party gumbo. Your guests will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was a little salty for me, but the men in my family loved it. if you read the other reviews and use less broth then consider cutting back on cajun seasoning. Also, less celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States