Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Let me start by saying, this was my first time having and making gumbo. I did not really know what to expect, so I just followed the recipe exactly. My advice; toss out the directions for the Roux and do some research if you are like me and have not made one before. From my understanding you need to heat the oil FIRST, then add the flour, stirring constantly until reaching the desired color. Another thing that is lacking is what shade of brown, a Roux can be anything from a light brown to almost black. I would also double the sausage, chicken and shrimp. That said, it was actually tasty, though I am fairly certain that my roux was done wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
If I could give 10 stars here, I would. This recipe is AMAZING! I have served it multiple times and everyone tells me that it is the best thing they have ever eaten. I do go easy on the spice though...half McCormick & half Tony's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I am prefacing this by saying I've never had gumbo before so this was my first time. It may have be that I just don't really care for gumbo...I thought the flavor was just ok. I definitely had to add tabasco sauce. I cut the recipe in half and it still made a giant pot of gumbo. Neither myself nor by husband really thought much of the dish so I'm not sure what to do with the leftovers that I've frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Substituted jalapenos for chilis. Didn't use celery. Added shrimp last minute. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I eat the chicken and sausage gumbo soup from Campbell's and was so excited to make the real thing. I made it exactly as the recipes specified (minus the shrimp) and I did not care for itl. WAY WAY too much oil and too much creole seasoning. I ended up draining all the liquid from it and serving it over rice to kill some of the overpowering taste of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Best gumbo ever. I used 1/2 cup of olive oil and a little less flour. My family loved this gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Magnolia, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
add okra & file powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nblackburn
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Oh my goodness..this was fantastic! My boys ate 2 bowls each!! This is a recipe which will be made again and again in my house. The only difference is next time, I will double the meats (chicken breast and andouille sausage). I did cut the chicken broth down to 2 qts and 1 beer so mine was a bit thicker. Also, like another one of the reviewers, I will bump it up with yellow, red and orange peppers, plus frozen okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is awesome..also decreased broth (out of necessity--that's all I had) used cajun sausage (out of the casing) chicken and shrimp! Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris71

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
It's a delicious dinner (and even better left-overs). It freezes well, which makes up for the length to make it, and it has just the right level of heat. I don't know how the original is 10 servings, I ended up with 13 cups after probably taking 2-3 for dinner. 2 things I have to say, though. The total time, especially if you want a darker roux, is not 2 hours. I did a medium brown roux, and I ended up taking 3 hours on this. Also, I let it sit for 15 minutes after cooking, to let it thicken up. That's when I threw in the shrimp. They ended up perfectly cooked, rather than the rubbery comments that other people have given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States