Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is really good. I used a jalapeno instead of chili pepper, because store didn't have. Added frozen okra as other suggested and thought it was a nice addition. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This is an easy quality gumbo. I like my gumbo with a little kick and this did not have much to speak of. If you would like a little extra add a tbsp of red pepper flakes. If you would like a little more, also add a tsp of white and a tsp of red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
OMG!!! THIS RECIPE IS THE BOMB, I HAVE MADE THIS RECIPE SEVERAL TIMES AND MY HUSBAND AND KIDS LOVE IT. I ADDED OLD BAY SEASONING AND IT WAS GREAT. EVERY TIME I HAVE MADE THIS GUMBO, IT HAS TASTED BETTER THAN BEFORE. PLEEEAAAAASSSSE KEEP THE RECIPES COMING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Meh. This certainly wasn't "toe curlin" good, but it made for a decent meal nonetheless. While this tasted fine, the consistency was WAY off! Gumbo should be thick, not soupy! I considered cutting back the amount of liquid as many reviewers suggested, but after reading Lupe's comments, I didn't. Yes, if serving over rice, some of the liquid WILL be absorbed, but only SOME of it. Even after filling our bowls with a heaping mound of rice, it felt as if we were eating mildly spiced soup. If I make this again, I'll DEFINITELY cut the liquid back and add a LOT more spice. Having said this, I did make one substitution which likely led to my gumbo being mild. After searching TWO grocery stores (including a specialty one that usually carries a wide variety of produce), I ended up with a poblano chile that I ended up roasting as Lupe suggested in his review. I SHOULD HAVE gone with my gut and purchased a jalapeno instead (the poblano was VERY mild).... My final change was to add a couple small cans of lump crab meat to my gumbo (I was a tad short on shrimp), but I don't think it was worth the extra expense. NOTE: DO NOT cook your shrimp for 20 minutes!! Add them the last 5 minutes or so (this will keep your shrimp from overcooking). Served with cornbread, macaroni salad and the rest of the Shiner Bock beer that went into our gumbo. :) Maybe this will become your go-to recipe, but I'm gonna remain loyal to YoYo. Her gumbo is the best I've tried on here so far. Thanks anyways, Lupe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Loved it. Better on Day 2... Added roasted poblanos. mmm. Next time, less sodium based cajun seasoning because it was a bit salty and i will add okra. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Outstanding...added the beer as suggested by Lupe. Served it at a dinner party of 12, they all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
So another commenter was right--it IS all about the roux. I used 1/2 cup of butter (instead of oil) and 1/2 cup of flour on almost medium heat for about 10 minutes total to get the darker brown peanut butter color. Also used Shiner Bock bear, 2.5 quarts of chicken broth, 2 chicken breasts, 3 chicken sausages, and 2 cups each of celery, onion, and carrot, as well as added in some zucchini. To make it a more balanced meal, it needed the extra vegetables. Be careful with adding the cajun/creole seasoning. Start with less than 1/4 cup and add to your taste. It would have been way too salty and spicy if I had added the full 1/2 cup. The smell is phenomenal, and it tastes just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Really good. I only used 2 quarts of chicken stock (my pot was too small), and kept all the other ingredient amounts the same, and it turned out great. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dezzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I have used this recipe several times, and been very satisfied with the results! I must confess that I have made a lot of alterations, but the recipe is very forgiving. I use more chopped vegetables than the recipe calls for, and substitute Andouille sausage (Amy's has a tasty chicken Andouille sausage that I like). Shrimp may be omitted for those who don't like them. I found 1/4 cup Cajun seasoning WAY too salty, so start with about a tablespoon and add more to taste. I found that this recipe omits two super-important ingredients (in my opinion): okra (I use about 1-2 cups frozen) and gumbo file powder (ground sassafrass leaves). Gumbo file gives it a special flavor that is very distinct, and also acts as a thickener, very traditional in a Creole gumbo. Overall, this is a delicious and reliable recipe that you can easily make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Very good Gumbo. I liked that it had chicken, sausage AND shrimp and it was very easy to play with if you wanted it hotter or more mild
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 493) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States