Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Very good Gumbo. I liked that it had chicken, sausage AND shrimp and it was very easy to play with if you wanted it hotter or more mild
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Lots of ingredients but easy and great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Holy Smokes! This was fantastic! My boyfriend refuses to eat sausage, but even he nom'd this stuff down. A word to the wise, though -- if you choose to add your own spices (like I did, and like many do), watch it with the cayenne. I may have OD'd on it. While it did not render this fabulous gumbo inedible, it definitely packed a wallop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HarleyQuinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phillips, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This is SO GOOD. I changed it to a pescetarian version, so I used tofurky sun-dried tomato sausages in place of the pork sausage, and I used salted vegetarian bullion in place of the chicken broth. I also used habanero powder in place of the chile peppers, and used half of the cajun seasoning that the recipe calls for. I also obviously didn't use chicken. Oh, and I used dos equis as my beer. The result was a DELICIOUS spicy, very well-rounded gumbo. It was a bit on the soupy side, which I like, but if you want a thicker soup I would maybe use 2 quarts of broth instead of 3. Can't recommend this recipe more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly and found what others said. Too soupy and had to add more meat. Gumbo was just ok. Lots of work and not sure if the outcome was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Num, num! This recipe was the first time I have ever tried gumbo or Cajun food. I made it twice because a friend of mine who lived in Louisiana for a while asked me to make her some more :) The main change I made the second time was less oil in the roux - I cut it to 1/2 cup. The flavor was as good or better and I didn't have to skim a ton of oil off the top. I had to use dried red chiles, but it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
WOW... Made as the recipe was written... perfect blend of spices. not too hot not bland either. loveded it and will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Let me start by saying, this was my first time having and making gumbo. I did not really know what to expect, so I just followed the recipe exactly. My advice; toss out the directions for the Roux and do some research if you are like me and have not made one before. From my understanding you need to heat the oil FIRST, then add the flour, stirring constantly until reaching the desired color. Another thing that is lacking is what shade of brown, a Roux can be anything from a light brown to almost black. I would also double the sausage, chicken and shrimp. That said, it was actually tasty, though I am fairly certain that my roux was done wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
If I could give 10 stars here, I would. This recipe is AMAZING! I have served it multiple times and everyone tells me that it is the best thing they have ever eaten. I do go easy on the spice though...half McCormick & half Tony's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States