Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Excellent! Produced groans of happiness from hubby. Used less chicken broth & more crushed tomatoes, canned green chiles instead of fresh, and less Cajun seasoning. It makes a BIG pot... 10 servings? That must be based on feeding 10 hungry linebackers- ? Lots of leftovers, but looking forward to enjoying more! *Cajun seasoning we used (Dinosaur BBQ Cajun Foreplay) was very salty, so reducing the amount, using about 2/3 of the 1/4 cup called for, was a good decision. Turned out just right! MmmmMmmMmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I love this recipe. I've made it twice and I'm going to make it again this weekend. I do add a chopped green bell pepper and a few little chunks of okra. It is wonderful. Patience is the key to this dish. Get that roux nice and brown. It just adds more richness to the wonderful broth. Can't wait for tomorrow so I can make it and eat it. My husband is a huge fan of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: English, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Delicious. But. I made a few adjustments of my own like others reviewers suggested, and some of my own. I didn't add a sweet onion, just a regular yellow onion. Used 6 cups of broth and it was MORE than enough, and used low sodium. Skipped the red peppers, roasted two jalapenos and threw them in whole to the pot. Simmered the whole pot for 4-5 hours. Added about 1.5 pounds of a rotisserie chicken, .5 pounds of sausage(I found the sausage pointless) and 2 pounds of shrimp. Only added about a 1/4 cup parsley. The key is in the roux. I used 1 cup butter and 1 cup flour, DELICIOUS. I also think letting it simmer all day(minus the shrimp) made a huge difference. Mine was quite spicy just the way I like it. Added in the shrimp with about an hour left, let them simmer with everything else, and they came out perfectly cooked. Will definitely make this again. Although this does make A LOT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this recipe. It is my go to for pot lucks and I always have to make a double batch. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Made this for a potluck at work. Got a TON of compliments! The spice level was specifically mentioned as being perfect. Right amount of spiciness with a kick. Definitely will be making this again. Some changes I made: Whole wheat unbleached flour (3/4 cup), Smoked cajun rub (1/4 cup). Recipe didn't specified type of beer, but I used a German Lager (I think I might try an IPA to see if the taste changes next time). Some changes I plan on making next time: Reduce the amount of oil by roughly 1/4 to 1/2. The residue from the oil was pretty heavy, and left a thick layer on top (i.e. mixing it around and then dipping a spoon in it, there was a coat of oil around the entire spoon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Yum yum yum! I used 3 cups of chicken broth, canned tomatoes, and didn't have chicken or shrimp so I added kielbasa. I should of sautéed the celery before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Searoll
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Took others suggestion and cut back the chicken broth to 2 qts, although it was plenty thin even then. Think next time I'll make more roux to thicken it more. I left out the red chile peppers because it was hot enough without it. I love gumbo but the heat does get to me. It's very good though! The local restaurant wants $8 for a bowl. I made the entire soup for what it cost for 2 bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Kibbe-Riddle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This was really good but really spicy. I pretty much followed the recipe with just a few changes. For the chicken I used 2 cups of a cooked roasted chicken from the store (it was great and saved time). For the sausage I used an Andouille Sausage (cajun - delicious)and increased quanity to 16oz. Increased quanity of shrimp to 2 pounds. Decreased chicken broth to 72oz. The recipe calls for "red fresh chile peppers" which is redundant. Chile is spanish for pepper so I used a red jalapeno pepper. The end product was VERY spicy so next time I will probably tone down the heat so its more acceptable to more people. One thing I was disappointed in was the fact that the recipe did not call for white rice and so I forgot it. Everybody knows you have to have white rice with gumbo. I wont forget next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Love this recipe, the only Gumbo I have ever tried, no sense in looking for another one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States