Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I to did a little fixing,I added 2 roasts 3 onions,and some Marsala wine.I also added some brown sugar and apple cider vinegar and water to cover.stuck in oven for 4 and a half hours.I used my grandmother's old cast aluminum cooking vessel.The taste is hard to describe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Always a hungry family waiting when I make this for dinner. The smell is wonderful as it cooks all day on the stove and it turns out perfect everytime. I use balsamic vinegar when I don't have white and they both taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I love roast and decided to try this new version. The vinegar overpowered everything else. Also, I'm not sure why it's cooked with so many onions. I might try it again to see if I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was wonderful, tender and very tasty. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
the vinigar makes it tender also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Like many "pot" roast recipes, this one works very well in a crockpot. I threw in some red wine and garlic at the start and later added some quartered fresh baby bella mushrooms. I cooked it on low for 8 hours and the roast was falling apart when done, but remained moist, tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Delicious and tender!! I browned the 3.49lb bottom round roast. After browning I added not only the onions and bay leaf but 1 celery stalk, 1 extra large garlic clove and balsamic marinade oppose to just white vinegar. I cooked it for 3 hours since it was less than 4lbs. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I made this about 2 weeks ago and it was delicious. I only used 2 large onions and sliced about a pound of assorted fresh mushrooms. Added a few sprigs of fresh thyme as well. The only problem was that my roast was too small. The onion/mushroom gravy was delicious with the meat and I made some garlic mashed potatoes to go with this. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I took other reviewers suggestions about browning the roast first. Then followed the recipe exactly. The flavors were good, but I found it to be very dry. I cooked a 4.5 lb roast for 4.5 hours. Maybe I cooked it too long? Not sure if I will try again. Maybe I should have used another cut of meat or cooked it in a crock pot? Based on the great reviews, I was anticipating it not to be so dry. I just could have done something wrong. Also, the one cup of water with one tablespoon of flour was not enough to thicken the remaining juices to make a gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I rarely make roasts, so I looked at the cut of meat, and typed bottom round roast and came up with this recipe. It was delicious! I will definitely make this again. The onions and the gravy really make this dish stand out and it's so amazingly easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States