Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
MBrooker, your recipe sounds almost identical to mine, except where you are using Merlot (yum) I am using balsamic vinegar and a lot more chunked up fresh vegetables. The secret to a successful potroast is to sear on a high flame on all sides right at the beginning in order to keep the juices inside the meat. Next time I'll be trying the merlot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This is a very good recipe as it is. It was intended for busy moms. Making a whole bunch of changes just makes it take longer to make, not to mention a totally differant recipe. Why do people insist on doing that. Post your own recipies people. I want to know what it was like as written, not your version of pot roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Margate, Kent, England, U.K.
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I only needed one HUGE onion. That was enough on it's own. Instead of water, I used 1/4 burgundy wine to deglaze the pan and 3/4 c. beef broth. I also used one beef bouillion cube. I always sear roasts before I cook them, it's something I learned from my father in law that I just do automatically. On the top of the roast, I rubbed in some salt and pepper and minced garlic. I plan on serving this with Montreal Steak Seasoned Mashed Potatoes and steamed broccoli. I can't wait to see how it turns out. EDITED: Making this with the red wine and beef broth was genius. So yum. It was a bit salty, if I were to make this again(and I will), I'd cut back on the salt on the meat. This meat and gravy was so wonderful. EDITED AGAIN: This is even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This was pretty good. I liked the fact that it makes its own gravy, since I don't make gravy well. Next time I will skip the vinegar, it gives a little twang that wasn't that great. Needs more seasoning as others have noted, but otherwise it was really pretty good, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This was okay, definitely not the best, but I don't think I would make it again. We didn't really find it as flavorful as we had expected it to be from the reviews. We ended up "doctoring it up" in the end to give it enough flavor to satisfy our palates, so that it wasn't a total waste for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by salemagnet28

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Very good roast! Just like some of the others who've reviewed this recipe- I added some red wine, worchestire sauce, and garlic to the gravy. Also put some baby carrots in the stock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I made this for a dinner party and it turned out excellent. I made two roasts using this recipe for that party. For the first roast I followed the recipe to the letter, but for the second roast, instead of vinegar, I added red wine. The roast and gravy had an amazing flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Thought this was ok...nothing exciting and the gravy lacked a lot of flavor even after adding garlic and using beef broth. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I made a few changes and it turned out awesome! I added some baby bella mushrooms to the onions and I cooked it, as another user suggested, in the oven at 300 degrees for 4 hours. When making the gravy, I added more pepper and some garlic powder. They gravy was perfect! I will be making this one again for sure :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This was a tasty roast. I didn't use all the onions but did add fresh mushrooms and used apple cidar vinegar mixed with water. Cooked it in the crockpot on high 4 hours after browning the meat with some salt, pepper, and rosemary for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States