Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I made a few changes and it turned out awesome! I added some baby bella mushrooms to the onions and I cooked it, as another user suggested, in the oven at 300 degrees for 4 hours. When making the gravy, I added more pepper and some garlic powder. They gravy was perfect! I will be making this one again for sure :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This was a tasty roast. I didn't use all the onions but did add fresh mushrooms and used apple cidar vinegar mixed with water. Cooked it in the crockpot on high 4 hours after browning the meat with some salt, pepper, and rosemary for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Very good and juicy (and I peeked inside the pan a few times). The outside was yummy--I browned this first using Tastefully Simple's Balsmic and Basil Dipping Oil and Worchester Sauce. I may marinate it overnight next time prior to browning. I added minced garlic to the onions (1.5 large spanish onions) on the bottom of the pan. Mushrooms would be a good addition, I think. Served it with Quick Cheese Biscuits (recipe on this site), steamed carrots and baked potatoes. I'm stuffed. I used a 2.5 pound roast for the two of us and we have lunch for tomorrow and enough to make soup. Gravy didn't thicken enough--needed more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Charlotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
My roast turned out dry so I think next time I will do this in the crockpot. My gravy wouldn't thicken until I added some cornstarch. I served with roasted brussel sprouts, and two recipes from this site: Mashed Potatoes with Horseradish and Candied Carrots. Cabernet made the meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEOW218

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Excellent - my husband loved it and it tasted like the pot roasts my mom used to make. I also browned roast first and used Mrs. Dash herb seasoning and a little Worcester sauce. Also added chopped garlic with the onions. I can't believe you don't need to add any additional liquid during the 4 hr cooking but it turned out perfect - juicy and tasty. I steamed carrots and threw them in with the broth for about 15 minutes. Gravy was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spring Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I cooked this in the crock pot - high for 1.5 hrs, then the rest of the time on low. Was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Turned out really well. Definitely will use this recipe time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I used most of the suggestions of MBROOKER and added additional salt & pepper to everything before cooking. Used a Spanish red wine which the onions picked up very well. The roast itself was terribly dry so thank goodness for the sauce. Perhaps in a crockpot it holds some moisture but not in a regular pot. A decent basis recipe but definitely needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Frankfurt Am Main, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States