Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Tasted good, but definitely needs some tweaks and adjustments. You want to cut your onion pretty big so it won't burn. I added some flour to both sides of the beef to help thicken the gravy later, then browned each side. Then I also added two cups of chicken broth so that the beef wouldn't dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rash Dicksy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I had purchased a top round roast at the store and wasn't sure how to cook it. I followed the recipe as written, only I didn't brown ithe roast first. My family really enjoyed it! I thought the gravy was delicious. I would definitely recommend this recipe for either a top round or bottom round roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
My family LOVED this recipe! It's easy enough the my 14 year old makes it during the week when my husband and I have to work late. She starts it when she gets home from school and by the time we get home, dinner is on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Making this recipe right now for what will be my third time. The first time I read the recipe wrong and put the 1 cup water in at the beginning of cooking time, but the roast turned out perfectly tender anyway (and I had put it in while it was still a bit frozen, too!) and onions were perfectly caramelized and flavourful. My husband raved and said it was almost as good as his mother's roast! Still had to add another cup of water to make gravy as liquid was almost all gone after cooking, and I added a bit of Bisto for more flavour. The second time I followed the recipe properly and all the onions and the bottom of the roast burned as there was hardly any liquid in it from the start. Nothing could be salvaged to make a gravy with and it took over an hour of soaking and scrubbing to get my pot back to normal. Luckily I had a packet of gravy mix on hand to use instead, and the meat still tasted fine. This third time I am putting the water in at the beginning again to avoid another burning catastrophe. Other than the liquid issue, which is why I haven't given it a full 5 stars, it's a fantastic recipe and the only one I have used since discovering it. Also, while cooking, it gives off the best smell ever to come out of my kitchen (then again, I've always loved the smell of onions). Especially comforting on cold, snowy days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Made this tonight. Family loved it. Added a sprig of Rosemary and removed when done cooking strained out the leaves as was not quite appetizing for the kids. But they liked the flavor. It also made a delicious gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Trying it today. Dubious about the only initial liquid being 1Tbs of vinegar. What is there to simmer? Vinegar softens connective tissue, which is great, but more fluid is needed. Especially at altitude. Also, browning roast and adding thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I seared my roast which was only 2.5 pounds. Then I put 3 sliced onions in the bottom of the crock pot,then the roast, 2 bay leaves, some rosemary and 3 TBSP of Balsamic vinegar. 5 hours in the crock pot and it was falling apart delicious. We used the juice as is rather than thickening it but I'm sure it would have been delicious thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I just made this for dinner and thought the flavor was super yummy...I didn't add the water or flour to thicken the juice. I just blended the onions with the juice and put that over the meat (and mashed taters). I also only used one onion with just under a 2 lb roast. I did find the roast to be a little bit tough and dry but with the juice poured over it we didn't notice too much. I might have cooked it too long too. Still I loved the flavor, I didn't find it to be bland at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I used a 2 lb bottom round. Seasoned it with season all, garlic powder and pepper. Seared all sides in a little oil, removed from pot. Sliced 1 large yellow onion and also seared a bit in a little oil scraping the little bits from the bottom of pot. Placed roast on top of onions, added 2 cups of water, 2 beef bullion cubes, 1 bay leaf. Once broth started boiling, turned heat on low covered and simmered for 2 1/2 hours, turning over halfway through. I didn't want to use the oven so I kept it on the stove. The meat came out so tender and the gravy was oh so YUMMY! I added a little cornstarch to a little cold water and added to the broth, brought to a boil and simmered 1 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I made this recipe pretty much as it was written, but scaled down a bit because my roast was only 2 pounds. I dinged the review by one star because I did add some extra flavoring. I added 3 large minced garlic cloves to the onions, and browned the roast before cooking the onions and garlic. The other changes I made were basically the same as the recipe, but used for health value. I used Braggs Apple Cider vinegar instead of white vinegar, and garbanzo bean flour for thickening the gravy. I also added 3 crushed bouillon cubes to the water for extra flavor, and some rosemary and thyme. Because my roast was smaller, I used 1 very large onion that I had on hand. I added more water because I am a fan of one-pot meals, and added quartered potatoes and fresh carrots in the last hour. After adding the veggies, I increased the heat to bring it to a boil, and then reduced to low heat to simmer for the remaining time. My family loved this roast. It was moist and very tender. The gravy was flavorful, and the veggies turned out perfect. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy2304

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States