Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2004
This recipe was tasty and very easy. The vinegar gives the gravy a nice little tangy flavor. I used a 2 lb. roast, so I used 2 onions instead, and only had to cook it about 2 hours. My husband liked it so I'll likely make it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
Nice recipe! This was my first roast to make and it was very easy and flavorful (though needed more salt). I had a smaller roast too (2.7 lbs) and I cooked it for less than 2 hours and it was too done, so next time I will cut down the cooking time to an hour or just over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I absolutely love this recipe! It is so quick and easy and tastes so wonderful when its done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
Excellent recipe. I used a dutch oven with lid in oven @ 300 degrees for 4 hours left if covered the entire time. The onions were a beautiful amber color which made an excellent gravy base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
378 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
I had my doubts about this recipe - I'm so used to flouring and browning a roast first, and adding at least some water in with the roast - so this just looked too easy! However, it turned out great! It made LOTS of gravy, very very oniony, which is the reason that I gave it only 4 stars, but that is a matter of personal preference. I had a 3.35 pound bottom round roast and it took all of 4 hours to get tender, I did open the lid once to turn it over. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
I love this! Whenever we want something low-carb and easy, we just put this on. I was actually amazed that it was so good. I omit the final step with the flour. I find that the caramelized onions and juice make a decent gravy substitute, and since I'm avoiding bread, potatoes, etc., I have no use for a thicker gravy anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
The meat was way over cooked and the gravy had no flavor. The reviews I read said the onions caramalized. No. What happened is the onions turned to onion soup on the bottom of the pan. I added flour to try to make gravy, but it was awful. No flavor at all except for onion. I managed to salvage the meal by adding some boullion (sp?) and some spices and a little more flour to the "gravy". I sliced up the roast, poured the "gravy" over it and served it with mashed potatos. My husband hated it and I wasn't very impressed either. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBELLOISE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
I appreciate Susan for submitting this recipe. She did say that, “This is the easiest roast recipe and requires little work.” I agree with that assessment. The instructions were clear and to the point. I had an occasion to try this recipe as a belated birthday dinner. The end result was good. It was tender and the beef had a mild bay leaf onion flavor. For this recipe I used a seven pound plus hunk of bottom Round (tied) and eleven onions as recommended by the “Scaling and conversion” feature of this site. Vinegar? I still don’t know what part it plays in this recipe. All in all I was impressed with the taste of the beef. It wasn’t dried out or tasted like cardboard. Because of the end result I decided to omit the all-purpose flour and water. I had more liquid than I expected. I tasted the liquid and I was a little disappointed. In my opinion, it was a weak onion broth. It was bland and needed help. I made a Roué and incorporated the liquid to make a medium sauce and added bullion and a few others ingredients to give it some taste. I didn’t have a blender handy or I would have taken the onions and processed them to add as a thickening agent and to add flavor. My over all impression of this recipe is good and my comments are; you may want to add herbs to improve the taste of the broth. The herbs when added at the beginning of the cooking process will infuse the roast nicely with whatever you decide to add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iron Chef Rancho

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I almost passed this recipe up after reading some of the reviews. Glad I tried it because it turned out great. I cooked the roast just as the recipe suggested, and it is true... lifting the lid to check the progress during cooking only lengthened my cooking time...darnit. Reading others' suggestions, I added extra herbs/spices (Season Salt in place of salt, Tony Chachere's Creole Seasoning, Cavender's Greek, a pinch or two of Thyme, and two whole peeled cloves of garlic). I decreased the onions to 3 instead of 6, and substituted Beef Broth for the water... great results. The roast was tender and juicy, and the onion gravy was to die for. Husband and kids ate it ALL up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WIFEMOMCOOKMAID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This was delicious & easy to make. I used 2 huge spanish onions put an onion layer on the bottom placed roast and then topped with rest of onions..I made small slits my meat and stuffed garlic in it..I'd turn/rotate my pot everytime I was tempted to lift the lid =0) 4.5lb roast cooked in 4 hours Thanks for sharing..and my husband thanks you too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Agosto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States