Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I loed it! Was a nice change from our boring slow cooker pot roast, I didn't use all those onions cause I didn't have them and I added mushrooms and red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
My family loved it! I used red wine vinegar (what I had on hand) and sprinkled the roast with thyme and rosemary. It was very fragrant. I did brown the roast also. The gravy is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I thought this was very bland... Had to spice it up quite a bit for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
OK, now ya'll hush about the vinegar. Susan knows what she's talking about. I had two roasts to cook, and ran out of vinegar with the first roast. Thought it would be good to compare. The roast with that little bit of vinegar was more flavorful and tender - the whole family agreed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I to did a little fixing,I added 2 roasts 3 onions,and some Marsala wine.I also added some brown sugar and apple cider vinegar and water to cover.stuck in oven for 4 and a half hours.I used my grandmother's old cast aluminum cooking vessel.The taste is hard to describe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Always a hungry family waiting when I make this for dinner. The smell is wonderful as it cooks all day on the stove and it turns out perfect everytime. I use balsamic vinegar when I don't have white and they both taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I love roast and decided to try this new version. The vinegar overpowered everything else. Also, I'm not sure why it's cooked with so many onions. I might try it again to see if I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was wonderful, tender and very tasty. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
the vinigar makes it tender also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Like many "pot" roast recipes, this one works very well in a crockpot. I threw in some red wine and garlic at the start and later added some quartered fresh baby bella mushrooms. I cooked it on low for 8 hours and the roast was falling apart when done, but remained moist, tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States