Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This is a really good roast recipe. It has been added to my binder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morenci, Arizona, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
The meat was very good. The only reason for my medium rating was that I don't understand the need for 6 onions. I sliced all of them, put them in there, and am not sure what their purpose was. I am not a good gravy maker, but I followed the directions for the gravy. I just think 2 or 3 would suffice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
My husband found this recipe and first made it in a Corning Ware casserole in the oven at 350 for 2 hours. It was tender and delicious but we felt that we should try it on the stove top as written, so we tried it at a family gathering on an electric stove. As recommended we didn't open the pot until after about 1.5 hours when we could smell the onions burning. They were a total loss and the roast was edible but tasted a bit burnt. Today I tried it at home using my electric skillet which can be set to "simmer". I didn't peek until after 2.5 hours and found the onions totally blackened once again. With only 1 T of liquid I can't imagine how it can be otherwise. We know it has potential because the first time was a great success. I'm looking forward to trying it in the oven again but in the old cast iron dutch oven, but first I will try it in the slow cooker, as other posters suggested, and see how it comes out. If we don't make any other changes I think it will still count as the same recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This was a just as advertised for me (I didn't have any problems with it being dry or too tangy). I used my enameled cast iron Dutch oven and started this on the stove top with lid on. Layered with onions then seasoned meat on top, tried rice-wine vinegar. After about 90 minutes on stove top & reading more reviews on here, I decided to add some sprigs of fresh rosemary & a small baggie of peeled baby carrots - also wanted to check to see how much liquid was in there, and there was plenty just from the onions & meat. Then I put it in the oven at 300 for another 2-3 hours until it was browned on top & onions had melted down & meat was tender (I did not brown/sear the meat first as I had no time with little rugrats at my sides). I then pulled the meat out & put in a large serving bowl instead of platter & scooped up all the onions & carrots into the bowl & let it all rest together while I prepared the gravy from the bits on the bottom of the pan. I really think that all the juices from the veggies kept the meat moist so I was glad I used a bowl instead of a platter in this case. I added only a few shakes of garlic powder & a TBSP or 2 of soy sauce to the gravy along with the water & flour. The gravy was awesome, and it all turned out great! Easy & makes lots of left overs. It's a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Too dry for the cut of bottom round that I had . Not enough liquid to make a gravy. bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susabelle
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
this is a great recipe. We tried the variation with the slow cooker. It was the first time we cooked roast in a slow cooker. We cooked a smaller buffalo round roast (about 1 lb) and followed all the same instructions, but reduced the final cooking time to low - 1 hour. It turned out nice and pink (med rare). The gravy, however, needs a little work. We may search for other gravy recipes. We added flour and water to the onion residues, and then some spices to taste...but...just not very gravy like. Overall, we still give it 5 stars for being the best way to cook roast - bed of onions using variation of slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Great, super easy, basic recipe. The gravy is really wonderful. This recipe, as others have noted, can be changed in any number of ways and is pretty foolproof. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This was fantastic (especially the gravy). The onions cooked down to give a it a nice, subtle sweetness that was OH so delicious. I used a 2-lb. roast and cooked it stovetop in a Dutch oven. First, I browned the meat on all sides in olive oil, then added to the pot: 3 sliced onions, about a 1/2 cup red wine, 1/2 Tbsp. lemon juice, 2 bay leaves, and a generous amount of salt/pepper. No vinegar (but the red wine and lemon juice made up for it). I can't do a pot roast without red wine-- it just doesn't seem right (haha). I simmered the roast on low for about 3.5 hours, then made the gravy. I used 1 cup of beef broth in place of water, and about 2 Tbsp. flour to get it to the right consistency. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I clearly did something wrong. The roast smelled incredible cooking for the 1st 3 hours, at 3 1/2 hours I checked on it and found the onions were completely burnt and stuck to the bottom of the pan. The roast was also partially burnt on the bottom. Hopefully I will be able to salvage the roast, but as far as the onions and gravy thats not going to happen. Thankfully I have some brown gravy on hand, but from what all the other reviews say my brown gravy won't compare to the one from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This recipe was incredible! The meat was yummy and the onion gravy was awesome! I used a can of Campbell's beef consume (heated) instead of the water for a stronger beefy flavor for the gravy. The next night, I shredded the leftover meat and mixed it with the leftover gravy and served it, heated, on hoagie rolls. Even better the second time around!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States