Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Roast turned out very tender and tasty. I didn't like the gravy but husband said it was alright. Tasted better the next day. Won't be making it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I made this for Easter dinner. This was very good, the beef was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This is the best recipe ever! My husband is a chef with 15 years experience, so as you can imagine, it is hard to "wow" him! But, he raved about this meal for days and was sad when the leftovers were gone! I only used 3 onions, but I think I will go with the full 6 next time, because they were so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
My husband and I loved this recipe. But, as advised by other reviewers, I seared the meat, added about 3 cloves of minced garlic with the onions, used 2 Tablespoons flour to thicken, and then added a packet of no-sodium beef boullion and salt and pepper to taste to the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monroe Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I have served this recipe twice now, and everyone loves it! It's so easy to make, and it makes the meat so tender and juicy. It's great with or without the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScrapTiffany

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seldovia, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
who new a little vinegar would make a difference I changed a few things my roast was almost 5lb more onions used 3 packets of no sodium herb ox beef bouillon a little sea salt and pepper 2 garlic clove fat side up one of the packet I sprinkled on top of roast with a few onions 300 in a enameled cast iron pot I have been cooking BRR long time this one was the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristene Walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
my family loved this recipe, but the gravy just didn't have enough body so at the last minute I added 1 beef boullion cube and an extra bit of flour and water to thicken. Beef very tender, but next time I will try it without the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
super easy and delicious. this is a basic recipe for pot roast, perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Excellent! Was skeptical about the vinegar but it must evaporate in the process. The gravy was great lso. I did add a few tablespoons of water. It is a keeper. The whole family enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This recipe was great. I only added one onion and 3 cloves of garlic along with the bay leaf. I did sear it on all sides with oil and then let it simmer for 3 hours on the stove in my dutch oven. Even though the meat was well done ( i like my a little rare) it was very tender. The gravy that you can make from this was very tasty as well. Great winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States