Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
My husband and I loved this recipe. But, as advised by other reviewers, I seared the meat, added about 3 cloves of minced garlic with the onions, used 2 Tablespoons flour to thicken, and then added a packet of no-sodium beef boullion and salt and pepper to taste to the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monroe Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I have served this recipe twice now, and everyone loves it! It's so easy to make, and it makes the meat so tender and juicy. It's great with or without the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScrapTiffany

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seldovia, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
who new a little vinegar would make a difference I changed a few things my roast was almost 5lb more onions used 3 packets of no sodium herb ox beef bouillon a little sea salt and pepper 2 garlic clove fat side up one of the packet I sprinkled on top of roast with a few onions 300 in a enameled cast iron pot I have been cooking BRR long time this one was the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristene Walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
my family loved this recipe, but the gravy just didn't have enough body so at the last minute I added 1 beef boullion cube and an extra bit of flour and water to thicken. Beef very tender, but next time I will try it without the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
super easy and delicious. this is a basic recipe for pot roast, perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Excellent! Was skeptical about the vinegar but it must evaporate in the process. The gravy was great lso. I did add a few tablespoons of water. It is a keeper. The whole family enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This recipe was great. I only added one onion and 3 cloves of garlic along with the bay leaf. I did sear it on all sides with oil and then let it simmer for 3 hours on the stove in my dutch oven. Even though the meat was well done ( i like my a little rare) it was very tender. The gravy that you can make from this was very tasty as well. Great winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Very good! Loved the onion gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal River, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I was doubtgul of this recipe at first but after making it I was very pleased wjtb tbe results. The roast came out perfect tender but not dry (wich is a problem with bottom round) and the gravy was absolutley wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Thanks so much for this exceptional and easy recipe!! The only thing I did differently was to brown the roast on all sides in a little oil before removing it and sweating the onions and some minced garlic. I then put the roast back into my enamelled cast iron dutch oven, covered it, and stuck it in a 400-degree oven till it was done (about three hours). Moist, flavorful, and tender and delicious served with roasted potato and sweet potato wedges and steamed veggies.....everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZMULLEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States