Boterkoek (Dutch Butter Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I've been looking for this recipe for years. To me it is more like a giant sugar cookie than a cake. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This is simply wonderful. I made a half batch and now I wish I'd made the full amount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
this is really really good and very easy to make. I had been looking for this recipe for awhile and so glad to find it. Everyone loves it and it dissapears very quickly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I am from Holland and can definitly say that this tastes pretty authentic. If you want perfectly authentic, put it aside and eat it the next day. Excellent! Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debora T.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Delicious! I used 2 tsp of almond extract, and 1 tsp of lemon extract for extra flavour. I added 2 tbsp of milk to make it a little less dense,and a pinch of salt along with the flour and baking powder. Instead of brushing the egg on top I made a quick icing with powdered sugar, almond and lemon extract, and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This cake was amazingly simple and delicious, which is why I'm about to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Just like my Dutch friend makes.....she wouldn't share her recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMOM2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
this is exactly like my mother's boterkoek! delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by labgrrl
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Very good and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I just made this recipe for friends and it was demolished. This is very, very good. I will be making this one again and again. I did make one change, I suggest adding 1/2-1 teaspoon of vanilla extract along with the almond extract. It mellows the almond out a little, otherwise it becomes too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States