Boterkoek (Dutch Butter Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I am from Holland and can definitly say that this tastes pretty authentic. If you want perfectly authentic, put it aside and eat it the next day. Excellent! Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debora T.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by justliveforlife
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This comes pretty close to Opa's authentic Boterkoek, and I must agree with Debora T. that it tastes more authentic the next day. I recommend letting it sit out for a night before eating it. I sprinkled sliced almonds on top after applying the egg wash. Also, we like it a little more dense, so in subsequent batches I used only a teaspoon of baking powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Delicious! I used 2 tsp of almond extract, and 1 tsp of lemon extract for extra flavour. I added 2 tbsp of milk to make it a little less dense,and a pinch of salt along with the flour and baking powder. Instead of brushing the egg on top I made a quick icing with powdered sugar, almond and lemon extract, and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This cake was amazingly simple and delicious, which is why I'm about to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alie
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Buttery goodness. A little bit dry but thats how its suppose to be. Tasted better the next day as per other reviewers comments. A few changes made was I used self raising flour and ommited the baking powder. Didnt have almond extract so used 2 tsp vanilla & 1/2 tsp rum extract. Pleace macadamia nuts on the top of the cake before baking. Simply delicious..would make it again! Dh loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I just made this recipe for friends and it was demolished. This is very, very good. I will be making this one again and again. I did make one change, I suggest adding 1/2-1 teaspoon of vanilla extract along with the almond extract. It mellows the almond out a little, otherwise it becomes too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This was really good, though with a little more almond extract than I liked. I also dusted it with powdered sugar. Great dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
So yummy! If you want it to taste amazing....put a layer of almond paste in the middle!!!!! So good and thats how my Oma always makes it! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
this is really really good and very easy to make. I had been looking for this recipe for awhile and so glad to find it. Everyone loves it and it dissapears very quickly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I've been looking for this recipe for years. To me it is more like a giant sugar cookie than a cake. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States