Boterkoek (Dutch Butter Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This is wonderful! Due to lack of utensils and ingredients I had to change a few things. I only added 2 tsp. or almost extract and added 1 tsp of vanilla extract. I also did not have any round cake pans or pie pans, so I placed it in a 9x13 inch square pan. I cooked it for the same amount of time and temperature. This is very good, it remindes me of a huge, soft sugar cookie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
i like this cake a lot, but it was a little on the sweet side. almond flavor was a little too much. will definitely make it again, but with less almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alie
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Buttery goodness. A little bit dry but thats how its suppose to be. Tasted better the next day as per other reviewers comments. A few changes made was I used self raising flour and ommited the baking powder. Didnt have almond extract so used 2 tsp vanilla & 1/2 tsp rum extract. Pleace macadamia nuts on the top of the cake before baking. Simply delicious..would make it again! Dh loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by justliveforlife
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This comes pretty close to Opa's authentic Boterkoek, and I must agree with Debora T. that it tastes more authentic the next day. I recommend letting it sit out for a night before eating it. I sprinkled sliced almonds on top after applying the egg wash. Also, we like it a little more dense, so in subsequent batches I used only a teaspoon of baking powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I just made this recipe for friends and it was demolished. This is very, very good. I will be making this one again and again. I did make one change, I suggest adding 1/2-1 teaspoon of vanilla extract along with the almond extract. It mellows the almond out a little, otherwise it becomes too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
this is really really good and very easy to make. I had been looking for this recipe for awhile and so glad to find it. Everyone loves it and it dissapears very quickly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I am from Holland and can definitly say that this tastes pretty authentic. If you want perfectly authentic, put it aside and eat it the next day. Excellent! Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debora T.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I've been looking for this recipe for years. To me it is more like a giant sugar cookie than a cake. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
There seems to be too much almond extract in this recipe and the one my parents made was without baking powder and relied on the egg for leavening. I also bake a boterkoek that is stuffed with almond paste. Delicious! I do remember my mother putting almonds on her koek as in this recipe. Don't overcook! It will be hard as a rock and inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Very good and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States