Boston Cream Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
I made this for my step sons birthday and the filling was a mess! it never came close to thickening and I followed the directions to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
the center was a bit of a mess, though it tasted fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Wish I had read the reviews before I made this. I misplaced my "tried and true" Boston Cream Pie recipe and decided to give this one a try. It didn't even compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
A few comments I would like to sgare on this cake: 1-it doesn't write here how to assemble the cakes on top of eachother. 2-the custard recipe comes out more of like some dense sugary-milk, very unlike the custard texture & did not taste good. 3- the chocolate glaze should be doubled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joy81
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This recipe is awesome! I made this at my work, and it came out beautiful, and sold out right away! I have never even baked a cake from scratch before! Soooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy81

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I followed instructions exactly for the pudding, but mine is thick, but not thick enough to stand up a layer of cake by itself. It tastes good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I can only rate the filling and glaze. I used a cake mix instead of the cake recipe. I cooked the cake in loaf pans instead of a round pan. I used the filling and chocolate glaze recipe. I doubled the chocolate glaze recipe and it covered the tops of the cakes and drizzled down the sides. It was enjoyed by all at Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I would suggest using yellow cake mix, and a vanilla custard pudding and topping with the satiny chocolate glaze from this site. Much easier and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I used a different cake recipe and this pastry cream recipe. Blah! Not thick enough by any means. It seeped out the side and ran all over the place. It was ugly, but tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gastlygoul

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Avoca, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
The cakes tasted like bisquik pancakes, the frosting was too rich for my taste, and the custard was very tedious to make. It ended up as a lovely cake with horrid taste that just wasn't worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States